Westlaw Australia Journals
Westlaw Australia provides access to over 20 peer-reviewed full-text Australian law journals. You can narrow your search to just one area of Australian Law (for example Criminal Law or Tort Law) by searching just in the journal of that legal topic. Examples of topic journals include:
- Australasian Dispute Resolution Journal
- Australian Business Law Review
- Australian Intellectual Property Journal
- Australian Journal of Administrative Law
- Australian Journal of Competition and Consumer Law
- Australian Law Journal
- Australian Tax Review
- Building and Construction Law Journal
- Company and Securities Law Journal
- Criminal Law Journal
- Environmental and Planning Law Journal
- Insolvency Law Journal
- Journal of Banking and Finance Law and Practice
- Journal of Civil Litigation and Practice
- Journal of Judicial Administration
- Journal of Law and Medicine
- Public Law Review
- Tort Law Review
- Workplace Review
Accessing Westlaw Australia
Access to the Westlaw Australia subscription database is via a single sign-on system. This means that it recognises users as individual Deakin users.
- Go to the Westlaw Australia database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- If this is the first time that you are accessing Westlaw Australia and you see the below Microsoft sign in screen, enter your @deakin email address and click on Next.
NOTE: Do not create a login, or use a personal Microsoft or gmail email, or your mobile phone number.
- You will then be redirected to the usual Deakin Single Sign on screen. Enter your Deakin login credentials at this point and it will take you through to the Westlaw Australia database.
You should only need to do this process once, or if you clear your Internet browser's history or cache.
Browsing for a specific journal title
- Go to the Westlaw Australia database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- On the Westlaw Australia homepage type in the journal title.
- Select the journal from the Content Pages drop-down menu.
- Then, you can browse individual volumes and issues.
Searching Westlaw Australia Journals
- Go to the Westlaw Australia database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- On the Westlaw Australia homepage select the link to Secondary Sources.
- On the Secondary Sources page, under the By Type heading, select Law Reviews & Journals.
- Under the Filter menu, select Subscription and tick the Show in plan only box.
- Use the Advanced Search form to undertake a comprehensive search. This example uses the keywords contract offer acceptance in the "All of these terms" field.
- Filter your results to only Law Reviews & Journals by selecting Publication Type on the left menu.
- The default results display is sorted by relevance. You can change the order to sort by date or other fields.
Downloading a PDF of an article
All Westlaw Australia journal articles are available in full-text PDF. At the top left of the article record, click on the PDF image with the title "PDF Original Image of".
Tip
For Westlaw Australia search help guides and video resources visit the Westlaw Australia Training & Support website.