LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
The database provides a variety of search and browse options, including, Advanced Search, Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search and Publication Search.
Searching LegalTrac
- Go to the LegalTrac database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- On the LegalTrac homepage under the search bar select Advanced Search.
- Use the Advanced search form to undertake a comprehensive search.
Example of Advanced Search
Choosing the Advanced Search option gives you the ability to search for multiple concepts. This example shows the search terms "principle of legality” in the top field, “human right*” in the second field and Victoria in the third field.
Note the Search Tips box for more assistance.
LegalTrac search results
The results screen defaults to sorting by Relevance. You can change to view newest or oldest articles first. Journals which are peer reviewed are easily identified by the peer review icon. You can filter your results using the menu on the right.
You can also try the Topic Finder for a visual display of results by topics.
Click on a result to open the article. Use the menu to email, download or print. Note: The citation is not in AGLC format.
Note
If you require a PDF copy of the article, you can then search for the journal title in the Library's A-Z Journals and Newspapers Index to search for another database which holds the journal in full-text PDF format.
LegalTrac Help
More information on how to search in LegalTrac is available in the Help menu at the end of the website.
