Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, books, abstracts, theses and American court opinions.
It is often possible to follow FIND IT@DEAKIN links in Google Scholar that will lead you to the full text of an article available through one of the databases Deakin subscribes to.
If you are accessing Google Scholar on campus, this usually happens automatically.
If you are accessing Google Scholar from another location, you will need to adjust the library links settings so Google Scholar recognises that you are from Deakin University.
See the Library's instructions to set up library links in Google Scholar.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an open-access scholarly research preprint and research papers repository covering the social science and humanities.
The research papers are free to view. To download papers, users are required to register and create an account. Deakin University Library does not hold an institutional account to SSRN. If students decide to register for free, please read the privacy policy before you register.
How to access papers deposited on SSRN without creating an account
Most papers on SSRN will subsequently be published in commercial peer-reviewed journals. If an abstract of a journal article is available on SSRN, note down the journal title, and look up the journal in the Deakin Library's A-Z Journals & Newspapers Index, to see if the Library holds full text access to the journal on a commercial legal database.
The following is an example of an abstract for the journal article: Vince Morabito and Vicki C. Waye, 'The Dawning of the Age of the Litigation Entrepreneur', (2009) 28(3) Civil Justice Quarterly 389.
The Suggested Citation box displays that the article is published in the journal Civil Justice Quarterly. A search of the Deakin Library's A-Z Journals & Newspapers Index displays that full-text access to this journal is available on the WestlawUK database.
In the above example, if you click on the link to WestlawUK, from the Library's A-Z Journals & Newspers Index, you will be redirected to the full text of the journal on the Westlaw UK database. You can then search for the title of the article in the search box, and in most instances open the PDF of the original article.
If a paper has not been published in a law journal, or if Deakin Library does not have access to the journal, you can submit an inter-library loan request form.