Westlaw UK Journals
Westlaw UK provides access to databases of case law, legislation, news, journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.
Browsing for a specific journal title
- Go to Westlaw UK database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- On the Westlaw UK homepage under the Journals link select Publication.
- To quickly find a specific journal title use the A-Z menu and select the first letter of the journal title.
- Select the hypertext link to your specific journal.
- You can either search by article title within that journal or browse by year/issue.
Searching Westlaw UK
- Go to Westlaw UK database homepage via the Library A-Z databases.
- On the Westlaw UK homepage under the Journals link select Journals Search.
- Use the Advanced Search form to undertake a comprehensive search. You can select either Free Text, Subject/Keyword, Article Title, Author, or Journal Title fields to enter your search terms.
- Select Show Terms and Connectors to see the specific search techniques this database needs.
Example of Westlaw UK Journal Articles search
Here is an example of using Advanced Search in Westlaw UK Journal Articles. This example shows the search terms graffiti & copyright in the Free Text field. It uses the connector & between the terms rather than the connector AND.
Westlaw UK Journal Articles search results
After you have submitted your Advanced Search form, the journal article records will be listed in the centre of screen and sorted by date (reverse chronological order). You can re-sort by relevance. You have multiple options to refine your search further on the left of your results.
Viewing and downloading your Westlaw UK search results
To view the full text of an article from the results list, underneath the journal article title look for Availability. Select Full Text to open up the article.
You have multiple options after you have opened up the article. On the right of the article choose either either Email, Print, or Download.
Tip
More information on how to search, view and download articles in Westlaw UK can be found in their Quick start guide: Journals.