Discipline specific OER for academics

Psychology

This page is designed to support academics with teaching by providing a wealth of OER specifically for Psychology

Explore our curated collection that highlights Australian OER, and resources on the following topics:

• Cognitive Science and Neuroscience
• Foundations of Psychology
• Functional Assessment
• Psychology Across the Lifespan
• Psychopathology
• Research and Statistics
• Social and Cultural Psychology

NOTE: While there is currently limited Australian-specific OER on these subjects, we encourage you to explore international OER and consider adapting these materials to better suit local contexts and curriculum needs.

Cognitive Science and Neuroscience 

• Mind, Body, World: Foundations of Cognitive Science by Michael R. W. Dawson (2013), University of Alberta, Athabasca University Press, is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.5 CA

Foundations of Psychology 

• Psychology 2e by Rose Spielman, William Jenkins and Marilyn Lovett (2020), OpenStax, is licensed under CC BY 4.0
• Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection by Robert Biswas-Diener and Ed Diener (Eds.) (2016), Noba, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
• Introduction to Psychology by Dr Charles Stangor (2015), University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0

Functional Assessment 

• Instruction in Functional Assessment by Marcie Desrochers and Moira Fallon (2014), Open SUNY Textbooks, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Psychology Across the Lifespan 

• Child and Adolescent Developmental Psychology by Courtney Boise (2024), is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
• Individual and Family Development, Health, and Well-being by Diane Lang and Nicholas Cone (2023), Iowa State University Digital Press, is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0

Psychopathology  

• Essentials of Abnormal Psychology by Alexis Bridley and Lee W. Daffin Jr. (n.d.), Washington State University, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Research and Statistics 

• Introduction to Statistics in the Psychological Sciences by Linda R. Cote Ph.D., Rupa G. Gordon Ph.D., Chrislyn E. Randell Ph.D., Judy Schmitt and Helena Marvin (2021)University of Missouri-Saint Louis, UMSL Libraries, is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
• Research Methods in Psychology Subtitle: 4th edition by Rajiv S. Jhangiani, I-Chant A. Chiang, Carrie Cuttler and Dana C. Leighton (2019), Kwantlen Polytechnic University, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
• Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners (Version 0.75) by Danielle J Navarro and David R Foxcroft (2022),is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Social and Cultural Psychology 

• Principles of Social Psychology – 1st International H5P Edition by Dr. Rajiv Jhangiani and Dr. Hammond Tarry (2022), Kwantlen Polytechnic University, BCcampus, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
• Culture and Psychology by L. D. Worthy, T. Lavigne; and F Romero (2020), MMOER, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
• Introduction to Community Psychology by Leonard A. Jason, Olya Glantsman, Jack F. O'Brien and Kaitlyn N. Ramian (Eds.) (2019), is licenced under CC BY 4.0

Where to find more OER?

There are many platforms available that contain OER, the platforms listed below are a good starting place to find resources on psychology.

• The Noba Project
  Provides customisable psychology textbooks written by respected psychologists and researchers. Noba textbooks are used by colleges and universities around the world. Instructor resources include ready-made textbooks, quizzes, PowerPoint presentations, and instructor manuals.
• Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
  Helping to close the gap by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health. Includes reports, journal articles and a range of sources.
• Lowitja Institute LitSearch
  Search tool provides access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature in PubMed. Refine your search to “Open Access” or select "Free Access" and check the license of individual article before reusing the content.
• Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
  Open public health courses and materials from Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.
• MedEdPORTAL: : The Journal of Teaching and Learning Resources
  Open-access, peer-reviewed teaching materials for health professions education. Also includes iCollaborative, educational resources that have not undergone the formal MedEdPORTAL peer review process. MedEdPORTAL is included in Medline.
• National Academies Press 
  Books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection.
• The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
  Collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.