Researching Secondary Law Resources

News sources in legal research

When researching contemporary legal proceedings, you may need to refer to news sources.  Deakin provides access to a range of newspapers, television, and other news sources. You can subscribe to certain news sources or go through the Library A-Z Journals and Newspapers.

Most relevant newspaper databases  

Legal issues and high profile cases are often discussed in newspapers, before they appear in a law related database.

The most popular databases for searching newspapers are:

• NewsBank Access Australia
  This database provides access to over 100 international and Australian full text newspapers. Less comprehensive than Factiva, but easier to search.
• Factiva
  Full text access to more than 8,000 Australian and international newspapers, news sources and newspaper pictures/photos.  
• Press Reader
  Press Reader provides access to the current 3 months of newspaper material for selected Australian publications. Material is available online and arranged as the print edition appears.
• News Limited Newspapers
  Deakin Library’s subscription to News Limited Newspapers covers access to Geelong Advertiser, The Australian, Herald Sun, Daily Telegraph, Courier Mail, The Mercury and other News Limited titles.  

To browse more news sources, visit the Library's A-Z Journals and Newspapers.

Television news

TV News provides access to Australian television news services (commercial, ABC and SBS) as well as selected current affairs and documentary shows.

Citing news sources

Citation of newspaper articles is covered by AGLC4's rule 7.11.1 for print newspapers, and rule 7.11.2 for electronic newspapers.

Television and radio transcripts are covered by rule 7.14.