Skip to Main Content

Reading Lists

Reading list instructions for academics

2. Bookmarking resources

This page provides key steps to:

  • Bookmark a variety of resources from the Library and the Internet.
  • The process for requesting digitisation of a book chapter or extraction.

 

Note

No matter what you are bookmarking, for the best results using the extension, start from a webpage that has details of the item you want to bookmark (ie. Title, author, etc.). PDFs hide the information from the extension so the resulting bookmark has limited to no information.

Adding resources from the library

Click on the plus icons below for steps on how to add bookmarks to common resources found in the library.

Book or e-book

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue.
  2. Search the Library Catalogue for the resource you're wanting to add to your Reading List.
  3. Once you have located the item, click on it to open the details. While on the Library catalogue record of the item, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.
  4. This will load a form containing the item's referencing information captured from the Library Catalogue. You may need to scroll to see all of the information.
  5. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the item.
  6. The item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Author/Editor(s)
  • Date of publication
  • Edition (if applicable)
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • ISBN (either 10 or 13 numbers)
  • Web address (if e-book)

Chapter of an e-book

To link directly to a chapter in an e-book follow the steps below.

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue.
  2. Search the Library Catalogue for the resource you want to add to your reading list.
  3. Once you have located the item, click on it to open the details. While on the Library catalogue record of the item, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. This will load a form containing the item's referencing information captured from the Library Catalogue.
  2. To create a space for the Chapter details, locate the Add Field option on the form and click on the drop-down arrow. Now select Has part (chapter, article, etc.) and click the Add button.

  1. A new tab will appear on the form. This is where you enter the Book Chapter details (you will need to open the e-book in another tab to get this information). 
  2. Use the Add field option again to add fields for your chapter information (eg. author, pages, web address). You'll need to add each field one at a time.

  1. Once you're happy with the information in the bookmark, it can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is a summary of what should be included in the bookmark so that students can create a basic citation:

Book Chapter details:

  • Resource type (e.g. Chapter)
  • Title for a full chapter or Title for a selection of pages (e.g. Extract (pp. 12-15))
  • Author/s (if part of an edited book)
  • Page numbers of chapter/selection. Note: If there are multiple page ranges, add all ranges to a single field
  • Web address

Book details:

  • Title
  • Author/Editor(s)
  • Date of publication
  • Edition (if applicable)
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • ISBN (either 10 or 13 numbers)
  • Web address (URL)

Chapter/Extract of a book and request digitisation

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue.
  2. Search the Library Catalogue for the record for the item you want to add to your Reading List.
  3. Once you have located the item click on it to open the details. With the details of the item on screen, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. This will open a form containing the item's referencing information from the Library Catalogue.
  2. To create a space for the Chapter details, locate the Add Field option on the form and click on the drop-down arrow. Now select Has part (chapter, article, etc.) and click the Add button.

  1. A new tab will appear in the form. This is where you can enter the Chapter details.
  2. Use the Add field option again to add fields for your chapter information (eg. author, pages). You'll need to add each field one at a time.
  3. Once you're happy with the information in the bookmark, it can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

NOTE: Steps for requesting a digitation of a reading can be found at the bottom of the page.

 

Below is a summary of what should be included in the bookmark so that students can create a basic citation

Book Chapter details:

  • Resource type  (e.g. Chapter)
  • Title for a full chapter or Title for a selection of pages (e.g. Extract (pp.12-20))
  • Author/s (if part of an edited book)
  • Page numbers of chapter/selection. Note: If there are multiple page ranges, add all ranges to a single field.

Book details:

  • Title
  • Author/Editor(s)
  • Date of publication
  • Edition (if applicable)
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • ISBN (either 10 or 13 numbers)

Journal

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue and search for the Journal.
  2. Once you have located the correct journal, click on the title to open the details. With the details on scree, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. This will load a form containing the item's referencing information captured from the Library Catalogue.
  2. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the item.
  3. The item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is a summary of what should be included in the bookmark so that students can create a basic citation:

  • Title of journal
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • ISSN or eISSN

Journal article

  1. Go to the Library.
  2. Search the Library for the record of the Journal title of the desired item.
  3. Once you have located the Journal title, click through the links to open the database containing the Journal.
  4. Locate and open the record for your desired item. Do not open the item's PDF as this does not have the referencing information available for the bookmarking extenstion to pull into a bookmark.
  5. Click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. This will load a form containing the item's referencing information captured from web page.
  2. Check to see if there is any information missing in the necessary fields for the Article or Journal (Journal details will be located within the tab "Is part of").
  3. Once you're happy with the bookmark, it can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

NOTE: If the Journal Article details a generated without an "Is part of" tab. It can be created from the 'Add field' drop-down, select "Is part of..." and then click 'Add'.

Below is a summary of what should be included in the bookmark so that students can create a basic citation:

Journal Article details:

  • Title of journal article
  • Author/s
  • Date
  • Volume
  • Issue
  • Page numbers
  • DOI (if available)
  • Web address (if online)

Journal details:

  • Title of journal
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • ISSN or eISSN

Database

  1. Go to the Library A-Z Database list.
  2. Search the A-Z Databases for the record for the desired item.
  3. Once you have located the item click on it. While on the A-Z Database record of the item, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. A window will open on your browser with a form to capture the item's bibliographical information.
  2. Make sure the Resource Type is Webpage. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the item.
  3. The item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Web address (URL)

Law databases

Resources bookmarked from law databases, often do not generate an accessible web address link.

So we have created a page in the guide for Creating Bookmarks from Law databases.

Audiovisual (streaming video)

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue.
  2. Search the Library Catalogue for the record for the desired item.
  3. Once you have located the item click on it. While on the Library catalogue record of the item, click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. A window will open on your browser with a form to capture the item's bibliographical information.
  2. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the item.
  3. The item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Author/Editor(s)
  • Date
  • Episode (if applicable)
  • Publisher
  • Place of publication
  • Web address (URL)

 

Note

When the bookmarking form appears, make sure to check that a web address or DOI is in the referencing information. If it is missing, it can be generated manually by:

  1. Clicking on the Add field next to 'Online Resource', selecting 'web address'. Then click Add.
  2. Then copy the URL to the item.
  3. Paste the URL into the web address field.
  4. The item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Adding external resources

External resources can be bookmarked from alternative authority sources such as other libraries and union catalogues (e.g. WorldCat), as well as from book vendors (e.g. Amazon). The Internet can also be used for bookmarking open access journal articles and audiovisual resources.

Click on the plus icons below for steps on how to add bookmarks to common resources found on the Internet.

Caution

Referencing information captured when bookmarking from external resources is going to vary and manual editing might be required.

Reports

  1. Go to the webpage that provides information and access to the desired report.
  2. Click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. A window will open on your browser with a form to capture the item's bibliographical information.
  2. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the webpage.
  3. Then the item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Author/Creator
  • Date
  • Publisher (name of organisation or website)
  • Web address (URL)

Webpage

  1. Go to the desired webpage.
  2. Click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. A window will open on your browser with a form to capture the item's bibliographical information.
  2. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the webpage.
  3. Then the item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Author/Creator
  • Date
  • Publisher (name of organisation or website)
  • Web address (URL)

YouTube

  1. Go to YouTube and locate the desired video.
  2. Click on the Talis button on your browser toolbar.

  1. A window will open on your browser with a form to capture the item's bibliographical information.
  2. Check to see if any information is missing in the necessary fields for the video.
  3. Then the item can then be added to either:
    • Your bookmarks list by clicking Create.
    • A specific reading list by clicking Create and Add to List.

Below is an item's bibliographical details necessary for students to create a basic citation:

  • Title
  • Author/Creator
  • Date
  • Publisher (name of organisation or website)
  • Web address (URL)

 

Note

Please contact the Course Resources and Access Team for assistance with bookmarking.

Request a digitised reading

Do you need an article / a chapter / specific pages from a book that is not available electronically for your reading list?

You can contact the Course Resources and Access team and they would be happy to provide assistance with digitising a section of a resource.

Alternatively, below are the steps you can take to request the digitisation of a chapter, extract, or journal article:

  1. Add an article, chapter or book extract as a Resource to the Reading List.
  2. Look on the right side of the resource, click the button with three dots. 
  3. Select Request digitisation. This will launch a form pulling the information from the resource on your reading list.
  4. Review the form and update information as required, then click Submit. The form will be sent to the Course Resources and Access Team.

 

 

Alert

You do not have to supply the scanned reading, however if you have a scanned copy this will speed up the process.

 

  • Last Updated: Nov 11, 2024 3:25 PM
  • URL: https://deakin.libguides.com/reading-lists
  • Print Page