Property Law
The aim of this page is to provide you with information on law resources that may be useful during Property and Real Estate Studies. For more detailed content please explore the Law and Legal Research Hub.
Books and e-books
- Australian property law: cases materials and analysis / Samantha Hepburn (2023)
This book introduces the conceptual framework of interests in real and personal property. It discusses selected case and legislation extracts from across Australian jurisdictions. The commentary evaluates the area of law, status and effect of key decisions, and subsequent judicial and legislative developments. - An introduction to property law in Australia / Robert Chambers (2019)
This book covers some of the diverse branches of property law including company shares, domestic partnerships, intellectual property, native title, natural resources and succession on death. It deals with all the various sources of property rights from adverse possession to unjust enrichment. - Bradbrook, MacCallum and Moore's Australian real property law / Anthony P. Moore, Scott Grattan, Lynden Griggs (2016)
provides coverage of all Australian state and territory land laws. Includes case-law authority, legislative change, and secondary authority such as resources associated with the introduction of electronic conveyancing and the Australian Law Reform Commission Report on Native Title, Connection to Country.
Official versions of legislation
Property and Real Estate is impacted by State and Federal Legislation. The following Commonwealth, State and Territory government sites contain the official versions of each jurisdiction's legislation.
- Commonwealth
- Australian Capital Territory
- New South Wales
- Northern Territory
- Queensland
- South Australia
- Tasmania
- Victoria
- Western Australia
Various legal publishers (such as Lawlex, LawNow, CCH iKnowConnect and Westlaw Australia) reproduce unofficial versions of legislation with enhanced content such as commentaries and annotations, or will provide links to the official government versions.
Locating Cases
Case law, or common law, can be described as the principle of law arising from the decisions, and reasons for decisions, made by judges in court. Search these databases for Australian Case Law:
- Lexis+ AustraliaContains the full text of Australian cases, journal articles, and online commentaries. Includes, CaseBase case citator, Halsburys Laws of Australia legal encyclopaedia, All England Law Reports, New Zealand Law Reports and the LawNow legislation citator.
- Westlaw Australia (formerly Westlaw AU)Westlaw Australia includes KeyCite case citator tool, The Laws of Australia, Online Commentaries, Thompson Legal Journals, Thompson Australian authorised Law Reports and subject Law Reports, and ALert24 current awareness service.
- CCH iKnowConnectCCH includes a range of Australian legal publications and resources covering taxation, industrial law, corporations law, trade practices and consumer law, and human resource management.
- AustLIIAustLII publishes Australasian public legal information, including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example), including a collection of law journals.
For additional information on searching for cases, please look at the Researching Case Law guide.
Bench TV
Bench TV contains videos exploring legal topics. Videos related to Property and Real Estate can be found in the following topics:
Referencing - AGLC
The Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC) is available in the library and online. Deakin Library has a comprehensive guide to referencing using the AGLC.