Finding articles
When researching for an assessment, there are several ways you can find and access journal and news articles. We recommend searching within key property and real estate databases to find the most relevant scholarly information, such as the following:
Key databases
- Business Source CompleteA comprehensive database for scholarly business journals, including peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full TextCovers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. The collection holds articles and records on topics such as current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- BIS Oxford EconomicsBIS Oxford Economics database provides industry research, analysis and forecasting services.
- Emerald InsightA comprehensive journal collection which provides access to the very latest business and management titles.
- ScienceDirectProvides the full text of journal articles in the subjects of Economics, Business and Management Science, Environmental Science, Materials Science and Social Science.
Searching in a database
Type keywords from your topic, or the title of a journal or article and then click the search icon to start researching.
Advanced search
To improve the effectiveness of your search try using the Advanced Search option. This will give you multiple search bars to enter your keywords.
Click on the plus (+) icons in the advanced search example below to learn more about how to apply search techniques.
Tip
Explore some search techniques you can apply to your search by visiting the Search tips and planning webpage.
Journals
The library provides access to a range of Property and Real Estate journals. The below list are a few journals that are key resources in the field. Look for the "search within this journal" option to explore articles on your topic.
Tip
Need to find academic or peer-reviewed articles? Watch the What is Peer Review? video to understand the process of peer review and how to identify a peer reviewed article.
Newspaper Articles
You can access individual newspapers via the Journals and Newspapers webpage or search multiple news sources at the same time through these databases:
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s to the present day.
- News Limited NewspapersFirst time users: Register for your digital subscription using your Deakin email address.
For subsequent use: Once you have setup your account, go to Geelong Advertiser or The Australian and login. To view print layout select Digital Print Edition option. You will also have access to the following newspapers: The Herald Sun, The Daily Telegraph, The Courier Mail, The Advertiser (Adelaide), Cairns Post, Gold Coast Bulletin, NT News, Townsville Bulletin, and The Mercury.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.
Google Scholar
If you plan to use Google Scholar to search for relevant articles and e-books, make sure you link your Google Scholar account to Deakin Library to increase your chances of getting Google Scholar results that are free and contain the full text.