Property and Real Estate

Property management and sustainability

The aim of this page is to provide you with information on where to access resources about the property management field such as planning, design, construction and maintenance of buildings.

Books and e-books

• Property management / Robert C. Kyle (2017)
  Explores daily issues facing practitioners, such as maintenance, accounting, administrative, and legal activities. This title has content on federal regulations, such as civil rights, fair housing, ADA issues, and environmental concerns. Includes case studies, sample forms, and review questions to enhance your understanding of property management concepts.
• Sustainable property management / Erin Hopkins (2023) Open Access
  This textbook encompasses three spheres of sustainability - environmental, social, and economic. It explains how ecologically sustainable concepts may be implemented throughout  property management operation functions, while also considering the other spheres of sustainability. The author draws on industry examples and provides activities for students to apply the concepts.
• Construction technology for builders / Glenn P. Costin (2020)
  This text addresses requirements of the Certificate IV in Building and Construction (Building). It has practice activities and worksheets, and covers structural principles, Codes, Standards and legal requirements. A technical glossary is included, as well as appendices containing additional learning material.
• Fundamentals of residential construction / Edward s Allen & Rob A. Thallon (2022)
  This book focuses on the industry’s latest methods, materials, technologies, and green building approaches, including explanations of residential construction systems and building codes. It covers site preparation, project delivery methods, scheduling, foundations, framing, roofing, plumbing, electrical, and more.

Journals

The library provides access to a range of Property and Real Estate journals that contain articles relating to property management and sustainability. The below list are a few journals that are key resources in the field.
 

Databases

EBSCOhost is a database platform with a number of high quality databases - the advantage of using EBSCOhost, is that you can search more than one database at a time. When you log in to EBSCOhost, scroll down the list of databases and select the ones you wish to search. Suggested EBSCOhost databases are:

• Green File
• Business Source Complete
• Environment Complete
• Urban Studies Abstracts

Additional relevant databases to search separately include:

Organisations

The following organisations provide training, property research and newsletters, online documentation and forms, professional services, memberships, and more.