Property and Real Estate

Key resources

Looking for information to expand your general understanding in Property and Real Estate? Explore the recommended resources outlined below.
 

Tip

If you need help understanding specific property related terminology check out this glossary of property terms.

Books and e-books

The library has both print and e-books on Property and Real Estate. These following titles are recommended to get you started:

• Real Property in Australia / Michael J. Hefferan (2021)
  Focuses on how the property sector works, covering topics such as economic drivers, valuation principles, legal and tenure parameters, property taxation, land development and subdivision, asset and property management and sustainability.
• Rawlinsons Australian Construction Handbook 2025
  This handbook covers information on cost control and cost management across all stages of planning and construction.
• Rawlinsons Construction Cost Guide 2025
  This reference book provides cost data for each stage of the estimating and construction process, for small to medium ($250,000 - $1,500,000) commercial and domestic projects throughout Australia.
• Property development / Richard Reed (2021)
  Outlines the comprehensive process of property development from inception, financing, planning and development stages within the context of sustainability and urban global challenges.
• The future of real estate / Ku Swee Yong (2021)
  Insights on the opportunities for investors and what is the future of real estate in Singapore, in the wake of the global pandemic. Variables like technology challenges and ageing populations can be applied to the Australian context.
   

Note

The easiest way to read an e-book is online without downloading it. But if you need to use an e-book without internet access, you can download it. Each e-book platform can look a bit different, but most have similar features. For more information visit our e-book access FAQs.

---

Key organisations

In addition to using the library, there are many useful and reputable information sources on the internet:

Victorian

• The Real Estate Institute of Victoria (REIV) provides data and insights into the Victorian property market, developments in real estate and registered training.
• Land.Vic provides information from the Department of Transport and Planning. It offers property reports, interactive online maps, land and survey spatial information and more.

Australian

• The Property Council of Australia (PCA) provides data and research information by industry areas such as capital markets, sustainability, office, infrastructure & planning, residential and retail.
• The Australian Property Institute (API) represents around 8,000 property professionals throughout Australia and overseas. They set and maintain standards of professional practice, education, ethics and professional conduct for members and the profession.

International

• Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM) is an international organisation supporting the real estate management industry. The website provides education, resources, information and membership for real estate management professionals
• Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) offers data and insight guides to shape public policy, develops international standards, and provides career, networking and training information for surveyors.

Suburb profiles, price estimations and sales results

• Realestate.com.au provides property news, suburb profiles and data trends such as median prices.
• Domain offers a free Home Price Guide with property price estimates, some sales history and similar properties.
• View also lists sales prices and advice pages.

Statistics

The following resources are good sources for locating economic and demographic data:

Streaming videos

The databases below include videos relevant to Property and Real Estate.