What is EndNote
EndNote is an industry standard software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies on your computer. It enables you to obtain references from the Library’s extensive collection of databases, provides easy storage and organisation of bibliographic references and research notes, quick alterations of citation style and instant citation in Word.
Installing EndNote X6
EndNote X6 software is available for Windows and Mac users.
There are 2 ways to get the EndNote X6 software
Staff on PC Phoenix workstations can install EndNote 16 from the Phoenix - Software Catalogue (Note: Mac users must have iOS 10.8.2 or higher to support Endnote X6).
Click on the following link to download Endnote X6 for Windows or Mac Deakin Software Library.
An application for your iPad is now available for purchase.
For technical issues related to downloading the EndNote software, please contact the IT Service Desk.
Upgrading to EndNote X6
Why upgrade to EndNote X6?
Some of the new features provided by Endnote X6:
- Track your references by applying Read or Unread tags;
- Organize and find your references using a rating system;
- Open PDF files to view your reference in a separate pane and make notes using annotation tools;
- Direct export from PubMed;
- More layout options to personalise your screen;
- E-mail references and PDF files from Endnote.
- Synchronize your Endnote and Endnote Web libraries by the click of a button
Before upgrading it is important you back up any of your libraries, custom styles, filters or connection files.
Please follow the instructions for upgrading given in the Upgrading to EndNote X6(Windows) file below.
You can register for webinar classes from the Thomson Reuters EndNote Product Training page and click on the Online Training Schedule.
Check for Library EndNote classes on the Event Registration System
Creating an EndNote library
- Windows users to open EndNote click on Start, go to All Programs, EndNote and select EndNote Program.
Mac users - EndNote will open once installation is complete.
- If you are prompted to Create a new free EndNote Web account click on Cancel. Although you can create an EndNote Web account from this screen there is a better way that provides more features. See instructions at Accessing EndNote Web on the EndNote Web page
- Click on the Create a new library icon or click on File, New
- Name the library and Save in: Desktop, My Documents or wherever you prefer.
- A blank library screen will be displayed (see below).
Add references to your library (manually)
1. Click on References menu and select New Reference (or Ctrl + N) or from the toolbar click on the icon
2. Select Reference Type from the dropdown menu in the toolbar (i.e. journal article, book, conference paper).
3. A number of fields will appear for you to fill in. Add the first Authors name (Surname, First name) then additional authors in the fields below, then all other information.
4. When you have completed typing in the information click the Internal button X which will ask you if you wish to save your reference - click Yes.
Tip: To save time and avoid errors it is recommended that where possible you import your references from electronic databases. Importing from an electronic database also retains the URL to the original reference.