Research Metrics Toolkit

Article level metrics are usually available from the article's record page in different databases. However, to get some information such as journal metrics you may be required to go to other resources (e.g. SCImago). Similar to author metrics, the numbers might be different in different databases due to their coverage.

Metrics and indicators for books and chapters can be challenging to find. This is due to the limitation in indexing of books in the major citation databases (such as Scopus and Web of Science) compared to journals. Google Scholar is another key tool for gathering citation metrics and reviews of books and chapters.

Similar to books and chapters, article level metrics for conference papers can be difficult to find. The prestige and credential of the conference and its organiser can often indicator the quality and status of a conference in its related research fields.

It's critical to be strategic when choosing which conference to attend and present your papers. Check the Conference: The how-to-choose guide for more information.

Author level metrics are available from your profiles in Elements, Scopus, Web of Science, or Google Scholar and take into account all your publications that are indexed (available) in the related database. The numbers might be different in different databases due to their coverage.

You can use our subscribed benchmarking tools (SciVal and InCites) to demonstrate the engagement and outstanding impact of your work within your discipline and the wider community. The benchmarking is available against your peers and overall institution, country or global performance.

Altmetrics, or Alternative Metrics, refers to data that indicate the impact or attention a particular work receives on social media such as views, downloads, mentions in the media, and shares via platforms such as Twitter, blogs, Facebook and Mendeley. Altmetric providers also track citations in publications such as policy documents, patents, and medical guidelines.

1. Access Scopus from the Library website
2. Change the Search option to Authors, and type your last name, first initial, and affiliation in the correct search fields
3. Select the correct author from the search results

• If you find multiple profiles exist for you, use the Author Feedback Wizard to merge your Scopus profiles, set your affiliation, and add or remove documents. You will need to create a log in for Scopus to use the Wizard - if you already have an Elsevier product log in that you use for SciVal or Mendeley, this will work.

At the author level:

• Documents by author (published in Scopus sources)
• Total citations (in Scopus sources)
• H-Index
• Document and citation trends graph

At the document (article, book/chapter, conference paper) level:

• Citations in Scopus
• Percentile rank within subject area
• Field Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI)
• PlumX Altmetrics: including social media mentions, downloads, Mendeley readers, and more.

• Publons is the new environment where you can benefit from the improved Web of Science ResearcherID, add your publications, track your citations, and manage your Web of Science record.
• You need to create a Publons profile for yourself. Login with your Web of Science account or create a new one. It then assigns a unique ResearcherID to you. 
• Note: If you had a public ResearcherID profile, it has moved to Publons automatically.
• You can add any of your publications to your Publons profile, but metrics will only be provided for publications indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection database.
• Create a list of your publications by searching Web of Science or uploading a file. For more information visit the ResearcherID-Publons FAQs.

Why should I have a Publons profile?

• To make it easier to gather citation metrics from Web of Science, and the research analytics product, InCites.

1. Access Web of Science from the Library A-Z Databases
2. From the Select a database drop down menu, choose Web of Science Core Collection
3. Choose the Author Search searching option
4. Type your last name into the search box, and select the matching option. Do the same for your first name or initial. Include alternative names if appropriate, and click Find
5. If Web of Science finds multiple profiles containing your publications, tick the ones you want to include and click View Combined Record
6. Click on Claim This Record and follow the steps to verify publications. Once the publications are linked to your Publons profile you can make edits there which will update the profile in Web of Science
7. There should now be a ResearcherID associated with your Publons profile and your Web of Science publications page - this can be used to search for yourself in InCites - which provides more extensive research metrics and analytics using the Web of Science dataset.

From either your Publons profile or Web of Science record, you can now view basic metrics for your Web of Science publications:

• Total publications
• Sum of times cited
• Citing articles
• H-Index

Clicking Analyse Results on any set of search results (including your own publications viewed as a results set) splices the data by many different metadata fields and provides simple visualisations, for example, to view your publications by:

•  Web of Science categories
• Publication years
• Document types
• Funding agencies
• Source (journal) titles
• and more.