Metrics for Business researchers
For Business researchers, many research metrics are available quickly and easily through the research metrics dashboard and your author profile. There are 3 key places for author profiles:
- The Scopus database (and related analytics tool SciVal)
- The Web of Science database (and related analytics tool InCites)
- Google Scholar
Scopus and Web of Science each index a list of specific journals. Business topics are covered in both databases so you will likely find at least some of your journal article publications included in your profile, although coverage might not be as strong compared to some Health and Science topics. There is more limited coverage of books, book chapters, and conference papers - but you may find that some of these publications are included here too. Google Scholar can be a helpful extra tool as its search engine usually finds more publications and citations from across the web.
Alert
To work with most of the metrics described in this guide, you will need to update and maintain your author profiles regularly. Author profiles are the foundation for bibliometric analysis.
Check out the Author profiles guide for further information and instructions on how to maintain and update your author profiles.
Click on the plus (+) icons below to discover metrics you could inyour application.
Journal articles
Metrics on an article are usually available from the article's record page in databases.
Additional information on article and journal metrics may require the use of other resources, such as SCImago.
Keep in mind the metrics on a journal article may vary due to the analytics in a particular database.
Our guide can provide you with information and instructions on metrics related to journal articles in the following areas:
Books and chapters
Metrics and indicators for books and chapters can be challenging to find, due to the limitation in indexing of books in the major citation databases, such as Scopus and Web of Science. Google Scholar is another useful tool for gathering citation metrics and reviews of books and chapters.
Our guide can provide you with information and instructions on metrics related to books and chapters in the following areas:
- Citation count
- Field Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI)
- Altmetrics (e.g. social media and news mentions)
- World wide and Australia library holdings of books
- Book or chapter reviews
Search Google or the publisher's website for information on a book or books chapters:
- Awards received
- Credentials of the publisher or editors
- Listing on university, school or professional body reading list
- Listing on a best seller list
Conference papers
Metrics for conference papers can be difficult to find. The prestige and credential of the conference and its organiser can often indicate the quality and status of a conference in its related research fields.
Our guide can provide you with information and instructions on metrics related to books and chapters in the following areas:
Search Google or conference website for information on:
- Credentials of the conference organiser
- Prestige of the conference in a field
It's critical to be strategic when choosing which conferences to attend and present your papers. For more information check out the Conference: The how-to-choose section of the Your publishing plan guide.
Author metrics
Author level metrics are available from the research metrics dashboard and your profile in Elements. Also any author profiles you have set up in Scopus, Web of Science, or Google Scholar.
Keep in mind the author may vary due to the analytics in a particular database.
Our guide can provide you with information and instructions on metrics related to journal articles in the following areas:
Benchmarking
You can use benchmarking tools - SciVal and InCites – Deakin subscribes to, in order to demonstrate the engagement and outstanding impact of your work within your discipline and the wider community. The benchmarking is available against your peers and overall institution, country or global performance.
SciVal and InCites benchmarking tools can provide metrics in the following areas:
- h-index
- Total citation count
- Citation per document
- Percentage of cited Publications
- Field-Weighted Citation Impact or Normalized citation impact
- Output in Top Citation Percentiles
- Publications in Top Journal Percentiles by a specific journal ranking
- Collaboration
- Patent-citations count
- Number of citing countries
Altmetrics
Altmetrics or alternative metrics, refers to data that indicates the impact or attention a particular work receives on social media (e.g. X (formerly Twitter), blogs, Facebook, Mendeley etc.) such as views, downloads, mentions in the media, and shares on platforms.
Altmetric providers also track citations in publications such as policy documents, patents, and medical guidelines.
Our guide can provide you with information and instructions on Altmetrics related to:
- Social media (e.g tweets, Facebook likes, blog posts etc.)
- Article stats (e.g. views, downloads, saves etc.)
- News mentions
- Policy mentions
- Patent citations
Accessing journal lists and rankings for Business disciplines
ABDC Journal Quality List - Business and related disciplines
-
Access the most recent version of the Australian Business Deans Council Journal Quality List from the ABDC website
- Search for journals online, including by Field of Research and by Journal Rating
Deakin Business School and Deakin Law School journal ranking lists
- Deakin Business School Journal Quality Ranking (access for DBS and DLS members only- VPN required)
- Deakin Law School Journal Quality Ranking (access for DBS and DLS members only- VPN required)