To access the online version of the Australian Tax Handbook, follow the Checkpoint link from the catalogue record.
This link takes you to all editions of the Master Tax Guide from 1999 to date.
This link takes you to a 2020 edition of an e-book published by Thomson Reuters.
Commonwealth Legislation is available via the Federal Register of Legislation. This is the site for authorised versions of legislation.
Legislation from databases:
Contains federal tax Bills and legislation and some state legislation.
Contains federal tax Bills and explanatory memoranda and legislation.
LawNow on Lexis+ Australia.
Covers all Australian jurisdictions.
The following links will be helpful in locating cases, tax rulings and legislation.
Australian Taxation Law Library
This library provides one searchable location of the tax-related resources on AustLII - including legislation, case-law, legal scholarship and treaties.
Australian Government Treasury
Contains Parliamentary progress of Tax Bills and Australian tax treaties
Federal Register of Legislation
Authorised versions of Commonwealth legislation and related documents.
Covers Australian law journals.
Includes cases, legislation, commentary, journals and news.
Select the Tax Library for legislation, rulings, Australian Tax Cases, the Master Tax Guide, Australian Federal Income Tax Reporter and other materials.
Informit - Business Collection
Covers accounting, commerce, finance, business (general), economics and taxation.
An international news database sourced from over 200 countries. It includes national, international and regional newspapers (including the Australian Financial Review), magazines, newswires, podcasts and company reports
Full text of local, regional and national Australian newspapers (excluding the Australian Financial Review). Selected international coverage.
Austaxpolicy (blog of the Tax & Transfer Policy Institute, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU)
Informs and promotes public and policy debate on taxes and transfers informed by the latest academic research. Covers all types of tax and transfers, budget policy, inter-governmental financial relations and public finance.
The Tax Institute is a member association of tax professionals in Australia.
Tax Chat Blog (Walters Kluwer)
Banter Blog (TaxBanter)
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
Australasian public legal information that is available as a free app from the Apple iTunes store and the Android Market.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
The mobile friendly version of the website has removed all images from standard pages, allowing for fast download. Therefore, you may not retrieve the same list of results that you would when searching on a laptop or desktop computer.
The website has been formatted so that it is easily viewed on all screen sizes, and you can also download the app.