The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot
A selection of Primary Vis Moot resources:
- The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot
- 32nd Vis Moot Problem
- 32nd Vis Moot Rules
- Arbitration Rules of the Arbitration Institute of the Finland Chamber of Commerce ("FAI Rules")
- MLL460 & MLJ760 Reading List
Search Planner
Before you start researching for an assessment it is a good idea to plan out your search strategy. Use this downloadable search planner to get started.
Key texts used in Mooting competitions
To get started on participating in Moot competitions have a look at the introductory books below:
- Jeffrey Hill, The Practical Guide to Mooting (2nd edition, Hart Publishing, 2021).
- Jorge Risse (ed), The complete but unofficial guide to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, (6th edition, Hart Publishing, 2021).
- Centre for International Legal Education, University of Pittsburgh, A Guide to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (Centre for International Education, 2013).
- Anthony Cassimasis, Thomson Reuters Guide to Mooting (Thomson Reuters, 2016).
- Aaron X. Fellmeth & Maurice Horwitz, Guide to Latin in international law (Oxford University Press, 2009).
Note
Key hardcopy texts have been reserved for Deakin Vis Moot students and are located in the Burwood Library at the Vis Moot Reserve shelves.
Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Schwenzer
Ingeborg H. Schwenzer is a significant commentator on international commercial arbitration. A bibliography of books and articles by Ingeborg H. Schwenzer is on the Ingeborg H Schwenzer Counsel & Arbitrator website.
Essential databases and websites
Databases and journal collections
ICC Dispute Resolution Channel (Jus Mundi) is a dynamic and searchable online service provided by the ICC International Court of Arbitration containing more than 1000 relevant documents from its established publications on arbitration. See the Jus Mundi University User Guide for more information.
Kluwer Arbitration is an excellent resource for international arbitration research, containing commentary and primary source materials, including ICC cases and awards.
Kluwer Law Online contains journals and manuals on a wide range of topics including arbitration, business and commercial law, company and corporate law and international trade law.
Kluwer Arbitration ebooks contains an extensive range of expert commentary.
Oxford legal research library
International Commercial Arbitration includes texts covering key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions as well as officially recognized and endorsed texts covering the rules of particular arbitrage bodies and key treatises.
Private International Law provides access to leading works on international commercial arbitration. Select International Commercial Arbitration for texts covering key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions, officially endorsed texts providing coverage of arbitral rules and key treaties.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive, analytical resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law.
Generalist journal databases
HeinOnline contains the Law Journal Library and Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. For best results, use the Advanced Search.
Oxford Journals Online contains a wide range of law journals, including Arbitration International and Arbitration Law Reports and Review. For best results, use Advanced Search
Westlaw UK contains journals, case law, legislation and EU materials.
WorldTradeLaw.net provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations, dispute settlement tables and statistics, WTO cases, legal texts and other documents. [Access is only available for open-access content].
Primary sources databases
The CISG Advisory Council is a private initiative which aims to promote a uniform interpretation of the CISG.
The Electronic Information System for International Law contains a section on International Dispute Settlement (currently unavailable).
International Institute for the Unification of Private Law: Check section on Contracts for the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts.
Pace Law Institute of International Commercial Law:
The UNCITRAL Digest of Case Law on the CISG (Free registration available)
UNILEX on UNIDROIT Principles and CISG International Case Law and Bibliography
Other useful sources
GlobaLex (Hauser Global Law School Program, NYU School of Law):
GlobaLex is committed to the dissemination of high-level international, foreign, and comparative law research tools in order to accommodate the needs of an increasingly global educational and practicing legal world.
Charles Bjork, Update: International Commercial Arbitration (October, 2022).