Legal Research Basics

BarNet Jade - Register for a free My Jade account to create subject or jurisdiction specific alerts which can be emailed on a daily basis.

High Court judgments - Register to subscribe to receive email alerts to judgment delivery notification, judgment summaries and the Overseas Decisions Bulletin.

Federal Court judgments - Register to subscribe to received daily email alerts of new judgments.

Westlaw Australia - [Deakin subscriber access only] Click on Alert, and create alerts to recent additions using Westclip. Alternatively navigate to a section of an Act and click on Create Alert to track KeyCite references to new cases which have considered that section.

Lexis+ Australia - [Deakin subscriber access only] Click on Alerts and create alerts to track new content on keyword searches.

Westlaw Australia Journals Talk - [Deakin subscriber access only] Select from the list of Westlaw Australia journal titles to receive new table of contents email alerts. Access the full text of the journals via the Library's A- Z databases link for the Westlaw Australia database.

Cambridge Journal alerts - [Deakin subscriber access only] Register for a free email account with Cambridge Core. Go to the Journals List. Click on All Subjects to Browse to Law titles. Click on the Alert symbol to subscribe to new issues alerts. Access the full text of the journals via the Library's A-Z databases link for Cambridge Journals Online.

Oxford Journals alerts - [Deakin subscriber access only] Register for a free account with Oxford Journals. Go to the Oxford Journals page and click on Journals by Subject and select Law. Open the most recent issue for the journal title, and then on the right side of the screen you will see an option to register for email alerts. Access the full text of the journals via the Library's A-Z databases link for Oxford Journals Online.

Deakin Library Advanced Search - run a keyword search in Deakin Library Advanced Search and click on Create Alert.

Google Scholar - You can create a free Google Scholar account and then create email alerts to new content matching your keyword criteria.  Under the Google Scholar menu, click on Alerts and then click on Create Alert.  Make sure that you have Deakin Library linked under Settings -  Library Links, for the Find It @ Deakin option to work.

Lawyers Weekly - Lawyer Weekly provides news, analysis and legal opinions of the Australian legal system. Register to receive daily email alerts.

The Conversation - Australian platform of news and analysis including legal news. Sign up as a reader to receive daily email alerts.

APO: Analysis and Policy Observer - APO makes public policy research visible, discoverable and usable.Subscribe for regular updates. Upload and publish reports, papers, data and more. Search the APO database.

Radio National Law Report Podcast - RSS feeds available.

LexisNexis Capital Monitor [subscription service only] Provides Australian parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information.

LexisNexis Practical Guidance Round-up [subscription service only] Email current awareness updates subscriptions are available for the following LexisNexis Practical Guidance Practice Areas:

• Banking & Finance
• Corporations
• Cybersecurity, Data Protection & Privacy
• Employment
• Intellectual Property