Skip to Main Content

Systematic Search for Health

Updating a review or re-running searches

You may need to re-run database searches when updating an older review or before publishing a new review to see if any articles have become available since the search was last run. If you have kept good documentation and the search strategy is already saved in your databases, your task will be easier! 

Considerations when updating the search strategy

The search used for review updates should remain as close to the original used as possible, with a few exceptions:   

  • Does the original search strategy have errors? If yes, these should be corrected and potentially noted for transparency  
  • Has terminology changed since the search was last run? If yes, you will need to review and decide whether new terms should be added to the search strategy 
  • Have any subject headings changed or have new subject headings been added to the database? If yes, you will need to review and decide whether these should be added to the search strategy 
  • Are the databases the search was originally run in still available? If not, check to see if there is an equivalent database worth using instead or the search is OK to just run in the original databases which are still available 

When the search is re-run, this should be noted in review methods and any associated documentation.  

 

Steps for updating a review

  1. Log into the required databases the searches were originally run in (if available)  
  2. Navigate to the saved search folder and retrieve/re-run the required search  
  3. Action any changes to search strategy e.g. keywords, syntax, field codes, subject headings or other adjustments  
  4. Add or update the publication date limiter – from date the search was last run to present 
  5. Export the RIS file and add this to an EndNote library  
  6. Upload the exported RIS files to Covidence and follow the instructions on ‘how to update a review with new studies’  
  7. Update any required documentation  
  1. Check to see if you have access to the original search strategy. If not, consider contacting the authors to see if this can be provided  
  2. If the search strategy is not available, discuss the next steps with the research team. 
  3. If the search strategy is available, proceed to the next steps 
  4. Proofread and review the search strategy for completeness and correctness, discuss any concerns with the research team 
  5. Action any changes to search strategy e.g. keywords, syntax, field codes, subject headings or other adjustments 
  6. Run the search strategy using the line-by-line method in the specified databases (if available), saving the search when complete 
  7. Add or update the publication date limiter – from date the search was last run to present 
  8. Export the RIS file and add this to an EndNote library  
  9. Upload the exported RIS files to Covidence either under a new review or follow the instructions on ‘how to update a review with new studies’ (if you have access to the old review space in Covidence)
  10. Update any required documentation 

Cochrane Advice

If you plan to update a review, we recommend reading Cochrane's advice: Chapter IV: Updating a review

As an overview:

Before beginning an updated review, it's important to plan your proposed modifications or additions in detail. If changes to the review methods are substantial, drafting a new protocol is advisable. In some cases, it may be more appropriate to treat the work as a new review rather than an update.

  • Last Updated: Dec 6, 2024 2:18 PM
  • URL: https://deakin.libguides.com/systematic-search
  • Print Page