Management resources
This page contains links to databases and other resources that you can use to locate information for your management study and research. Use the menu on the left to access more resources which are specific to each management stream.
Key databases
Below is a list of databases which we recommend for Management. Remember that no one databases has everything, so it is always a good idea to search multiple databases. For help with techniques to effectively search within databases, head to the Search Strategies and Tips section of this guide.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (Proquest)ABI/INFORM covers all aspects of business, including economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, competitive landscape and product information, accounting and finance.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
- Emerald InsightEmerald is a comprehensive journal collection which provides access to the very latest business and management titles. Access journals from subject areas, including, LIS, Engineering, Marketing, Health Care, Management and Accounting and Finance.
- Emerald Open ResearchEmerald Open Research publishes a range of research outputs, from original research articles to case studies and data notes. With open peer review controlled by the author and an open data policy, research will be freely available to read, download and reuse.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect provides indexing and full text of journal articles relating to Business and Management Science. Full text is only available for the journals to which Deakin University subscribes.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
Explore more databases for Management
Deakin subscribes to a large number of databases that you can use for your study and research.
You can filter the list to locate specific databases.
Here are the steps:
- Go to Deakin's list of databases available on the A-Z databases page.
- Select the Filter icon.
- In this instance, Management comes under the broader Business discipline. To restrict the list to business relevant databases, look in the Limit by subject area and click the Business button.
- If you wish, you can add more filters, including restricting the database list by format and access type.
Key academic journals
Journal articles are also known as peer reviewed, scholarly, academic or refereed articles. Journals can be found in Library Databases. Below are some journals relevant to management. If you are looking for a specific journal not on this list, you can search for it in the A-Z Journal listing.
- Academy of Management JournalThe journal publishes articles presenting strong and persuasive evidence and provides readers clear and timely implications for understanding and improving management and organizations.
- Australian Journal of ManagementAJM publishes research in accounting, applied economics, finance, industrial relations, political science, psychology, statistics and other disciplines in relation to their application to management.
- Journal of ManagementJournal of Management (JOM), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is committed to publishing scholarly empirical and theoretical research articles that have a high impact on the management field as a whole. JOM encourages new ideas or new perspectives on existing research.
- Journal of Management StudiesCovers organizational theory and behavior, strategic management, human resource management, and cross-cultural comparisons of organizational effectiveness.
Key non-academic journals
- Harvard Business ReviewA leading publication from Business Harvard Business Publishing (HBP) a wholly-owned subsidiary of Harvard University, reporting into Harvard Business School.The publication aims to improve the practice of management in a changing world.
- MIT Sloan Management ReviewMIT SMR disseminates new management research and innovative ideas so that thoughtful executives can capitalize on the opportunities generated by rapid organizational, technological and societal change.
Key e-book platforms
The Library has lots of great e-book collections. You can search within one of the specific collections below or, to search all e-books, you can use the Library Search and limit your results to show only e-books.
- O'Reilly Books OnlineThe O'Reilly platform is a digital library providing access to e-books and videos. Topics include business, career development, data, design, hardware, math, science, engineering, security, software development, system administration, travel and hobbies, and web and mobile.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralProQuest Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers.
Online newspapers and magazines
If you are looking for news and media reports, the following databases allow you to search specifically for new articles and media recordings.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
- News Limited NewspapersFirst time users: Register for your digital subscription using your Deakin email address.
- TVNewsAustralian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.
- Press ReaderPress Reader provides access to current newspapers and magazines both locally and internationally. Just like reading the print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content.
- FactivaFactiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources - including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters and The Associated Press, as well as journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
Recommended websites
Below you will find some recommendations for management related websites to use for your research and studies.
- Management LibraryThe Library provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations (whether the organization is for-profit or non-profit). Over the past 15 years, the Library has grown to be one of the world's largest well-organized collections of these types of articles and resources.
- Australian and New Zealand Academy of ManagementAcademic organisation dedicated to advancing management education, research, and practice in Australia, New Zealand, and beyond.
- Global EdgeGlobalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. GlobalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.