Finding maps

Library resources

This page outlines how to find key mapping resources in the library's collection.

• Library search: Access our collection of digital and physical maps using library search.
• Gazetteers: Discover detailed geographical information and historical context for place names.
• Special collections: Explore rare and unique maps for specialised research.

Library search

Our collection has many physical maps, as well as print books which sometimes include maps, plans, and related architectural illustrations. You can find and locate these resources using the library's Advanced Search discovery tool. 

Start by entering a place/region name, e.g. Geelong.

Then add relevant keywords to describe the resource you need, e.g. drawings OR maps OR cartographs OR plans.

Below is an example using the search terms: Geelong maps plans

After running your search, you can further narrow your results with the All Filters menu.

• Change the Source Type to books and maps. You may need to click on the +more option to select the maps source type
• If you are searching for physical maps, select specific Campus Locations to limit your results to print sources. 
• Use the Published Date option if you require material from a specific time range, e.g. only recent material, or historical material.

Gazetteers

Gazetteers are dictionaries or directories that provide detailed information about geographic locations. By using gazetteers, you can accurately pinpoint locations, learn standardised place names, and gain a deeper understanding of the historical and administrative context of your chosen location. 

We have several gazetteers available in our library’s collection that can aid your map searches:

• The concise Oxford dictionary of world place names  by John Everett-Heath (2019) delves into the history, meanings, and origins of place names globally. It spans continents, countries, regions, and various geographical features, providing local names and key historical facts (e-book).
• Place names of Victoria by Les Blake (1976) provides a comprehensive guide to the origins, meanings, and historical significance of place names across Victoria, offering valuable insights into the state's geographic and cultural heritage. (e-book)
• Macquarie atlas of indigenous Australia by Bill Arthur and Frances Morphy (2019) presents a rich visual and cultural exploration of Indigenous Australia, combining maps, data, and stories to highlight the diverse histories, languages, and connections to land of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples (book).
• GeoScience - Gazetteer of Australia is an online resource that provides detailed geographic information on place names across Australia, helping users accurately locate and understand standardized place names, along with their historical and administrative contexts, making it an essential tool for geographic research. (website)
• TLCMap - Gazetteer of Historical Australian Places is an online tool that offers detailed information on historically significant Australian locations, helping users discover and explore the historical and cultural context of place names across the country, making it a valuable resource for research into Australia’s past.(online tool)

Finding gazetteers in our collection

You can find other gazetteers in our collection using the library's Advanced Search discovery tool. 

Start by entering your required location, e.g. India.

Then add the following keywords: gazetteer OR place names

Below is an example using the search terms: India gazetteer place names

Special Collection

The Deakin University Library's Special Collections holds a variety of resources, including historical maps, building plans, and rare books. For historical architecture information, you may like to browse our following items held at Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library (ADPML):

• Architectural plans, Deakin University Waterfront campus - Hay building: This collection features architectural plans for the Hay building at Deakin University’s Waterfront campus. Originally Dalgety’s wool store, the plans for adapting this site were drawn up by the architectural firm McGlashan and Everist Pty Ltd.
• Architecture and Design collection: This digital collection within Deakin Fusion showcases a variety of materials related to the architecture and design of dwellings and historical Australian home designs, with detailed plans and illustrations.

To view any of these resources, please get in touch with our Special Collections Librarian to arrange a viewing time. 

Search the Special collections

You can find and locate maps in our Special Collection using the below search box.

Enter your required location, followed by the word map. For example: Geelong map. Then press Search. 

* All search results open in a new window. *