Finding maps

Architectural details

This page offers a variety of online resources related to architecture and construction, including detailed plans, technical specifications, and sustainable design insights. It features databases, professional associations, and archives focused on both contemporary and historic architectural details.

Databases

• DETAIL LIBRARY
  Shares construction details that can be adjusted and amended to suit your own projects.
• Detail Inspiration
  Includes plans, drawings, elevations, technical specifications and images for over 4000 architectural designs from around the world.
• BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database
  Is an archived abstract database that indexes and abstracts material on worldwide information in the building, construction and engineering field including fire technology.
• ArchDaily
  A collection of architectural projects with detailed drawings and descriptions, focusing on construction details.
• The Building Enclosure
  A free online resource owned and operated by Building Science Corporation. BSC takes a leadership role in promoting the design and construction of buildings that are healthier, less energy-consuming, and more durable and economical.
• ARCHIBLOX
  Offers plans, sections, and details for sustainable projects, providing insights into eco-friendly design and construction.
• Historic Details
  Explores beautiful designs and details of historic houses in America, including ornamental stairs, windows, doors, fireplaces, surface finishes, and furnishings.

Professional Associations and Networks

• The American Institute of Architects (AIA)
Provides resources, education, and networking opportunities for architecture professionals, including seminars and workshops focused on architectural detailing.
• Australian Institute of Architects
Includes networking events and education programs and works collaboratively with key stakeholders across government and industry and with affiliate peak organisations.
• Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)
Provides resources including access to the RIBA Library, talks, and professional development opportunities focused on design and detailing.
• International Union of Architects (UIA)
Facilitates international exchange and education in architecture by offering conferences, competitions, and workshops that enhance understanding of global detailing practices.

Books

These books offer a comprehensive look at various aspects of architecture and construction, from visual guides on building principles to detailed case studies on timber architecture and modern residential design. They explore technical aspects of construction detailing, materials, and styles, while also providing frameworks for understanding architectural sections and guiding the creation of precise construction drawings.