Geographic maps and spatial data
On this page, you'll find links to online tools for accessing spatial and geographical data across Australia and the world:
- Finding geospatial data with Google: Tips and techniques for more precise Google results.
- Global mapping tools: Tools for accessing global spatial data and maps.
- Australian maps and spatial data: National, regional and local tools for detailed geographical information.
Tip
Want to learn how the Global Positioning System (GPS) works? Check out Lost without it: How GPS is more than just navigation (2023) by University of Southern Queensland's Chris McAlister.
Finding geospatial data with Google
Google can be a useful tool when searching for maps and geospatial data.
Here are some common tips to keep in mind when searching Google:
- Search for place names with multiple words as an exact phrase, e.g. "New South Wales" map
- Google will automatically look for word variations, e.g. Australia will match to Australian, Australia's, Australians
- Limit your search by a specific region to find localised information.
- Use domains to limit your search to material on specific websites, e.g. site:.gov.au for Australian government sites
- Specify a file extension to narrow your results to only include those file types, e.g. filetype:pdf
Example searches
Search 1.
Query: "New South Wales" map site:.gov.au
This search will find maps related to New South Wales on Australian government websites.
Search 2.
Query: "geospatial data" "Victoria" filetype:pdf
This search will locate PDF documents containing geospatial data related to Victoria.
Search 3.
Query: "Aboriginal land" OR "Indigenous Australia" map site:.edu.au
This search will find maps related to Aboriginal land or Indigenous Australia on Australian educational websites.
Idea
Use Google Advanced Search for access to all these advanced features and more in a user-friendly interface.
Global mapping tools
These following tools are recommended to get you started with finding global map and spatial data:
- Google MapsGoogle Maps is a web mapping tool which includes satellite imagery, street maps, 360° panoramic views of streets (Street View).
- Google EarthExplore worldwide satellite imagery and 3D buildings and terrain for hundreds of cities. Zoom to your house or anywhere else, then dive in for a 360° perspective with Street View.
- NASA's EarthNowNASA's EarthNow provides real-time satellite imagery of Earth, enabling users to monitor environmental changes and weather patterns globally.
- Geography via EuropeanaThe Europeana Geography collection provides access to a diverse range of digital resources related to geographical themes, showcasing maps, photographs, and historical documents from European cultural heritage institutions.
- UN GeospatialThe UN Geospatial website serves as a hub for United Nations' geospatial information.
- British History OnlineBritish History Online contains content relating to British and Irish history, including 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles.
- National Library of New Zealand Cartographic CollectionA diverse range of maps and cartographic resources that document New Zealand's geographic history and development.
- OpenStreetMapOpenStreetMap is an open-source, community-driven mapping platform that allows users to explore and contribute to detailed maps of locations worldwide.
Australian maps and spatial data
In addition to global mapping tools, there are many useful tools for finding Australian mapping and spatial data.
Australia
- NearmapNearmap provides current, high-resolution aerial imagery of urban and regional metro areas in Australia.
- TroveSearch Trove to explore collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives.
Refine your search to 'Images, Maps & Artefacts' and enter the region or place name. - Geoscience AustraliaLocate and download Australian topographic maps. Available in 1:50 000, 1:100 000, 1:250 000 and 1:1 million scales.
- Whereis Street AtlasDigital mapping tool which enables to search for any Australian address and generate a detailed map of its location.
- National MapA platform providing access to spatial data and geographic information from various Australian government agencies.
- Environmental Resources Information Network (ERIN)ERIN provides centralised access to diverse environmental data, spatial data and maps in Australia.
- Data and publications (Geoscience Australia)Offers an extensive array of general and thematic maps of Australia, encompassing interactive features, datasets, publications, and online tools.
- NLA - Australian topographic mapsNational Library of Australia's guide to finding and requesting Australian topographic maps
Victoria
The following resources are good sources for locating mapping and spatial data specific to Victoria:
- Map collections at State Library of VictoriaState Library of Victoria has an extensive collection of maps of Melbourne and Victoria, as well as Australian and international maps and charts. Much of the collection is available online.
- Planning Maps Online (PMO)Planning Maps Online (PMO) allows users to search and view planning scheme maps, zones, overlays, and historical maps, with access to property data from the Victorian Heritage Register and aerial imagery for the Port Phillip Bay area, provided by the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.
- VicMapVicmap Basemaps offers a range of tiled basemap services to display fundamental Vicmap data in web mapping applications and GIS desktop environments.
Melbourne
- City of Melbourne’s open data platformA growing number of publicly available City of Melbourne datasets to explore, export, visualise or map. Includes pedestrian, CLUE, transport, environment, buildings and dwellings data.
- Melway OnlineA digital platform that provides interactive maps and comprehensive street directories for navigating Melbourne and its surrounding areas.
- Melbourne Metropolitan Board of Works (MMBW) Maps SeriesOpen the above link to access the State Library of Victoria's catalogue and run a search for 'MMBW'.
Geelong
- Geelong and the Bellarine Peninsula / Avis Quarrell, 1984 (book)
- Geelong images, maps & artefacts via TroveLocate maps and images of Geelong in Trove's catalogue, dating as far back as 1800.
- Maps via City of Greater GeelongThe City of Greater Geelong website provides access to an interactive map of Geelong, Victoria.
Other Australian States
The links below provide access to mapping and spatial data for specific Australian states:
- Australian Local Shire & Council Open DataAn interactive map showcasing Australian Local Government Councils and indicating those with accessible spatial data.
- Location SA Map ViewerAn online platform providing access to spatial data and mapping for South Australia.
- Northern Territory Atlas and Spatial Data DirectoryAccess geographic information and mapping data specific to the Northern Territory region of Australia.
- Queensland Coastal AtlasThe Queensland Coastal Atlas provides detailed geographic information and mapping resources focused on the coastal areas of Queensland, Australia.
- Queensland GlobeThe Queensland Globe is an interactive platform for exploring location-based information about Queensland.
- NSW Spatial ServicesAn online portal for accessing spatial data and interactive mapping tools for New South Wales.