LibGuides: Management: MPM735 International Business Management

Business Enabling Environment (BEE)

The World Bank's Business Enabling Environment (BEE) is a new approach to assessing the business and investment climate in economies worldwide following the discontinuation of the Doing Business project. Updates on the development of the new Business Enabling Environment (BEE) project will be published as they become available. In the interim, this website will act as a one-stop shop to spotlight a set of curated indicators and resources for users focused on improving the business environment.

Industry Profiles

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld's Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC) include a definition of the industry, key statistics, critical factors for success, information on the major players, market characteristics, industry segmentation and industry outlook.
Passport
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries.

Statistics and Country Facts

IMF eLibrary ebooks
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
Statista
Statista is a database consists of market data of more than 600 industries. Provides access to relevant data from numerous source and provides with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to a search request within a matter of seconds.

See Company, Industry and Country Library Resource Guide

Australian Government Sources

Australian Trade and Investment Commission
Austrade is the Australian Government’s trade and investment development agency. Check out their section About Exporting which looks at market research, strategies and networking opportunities. Have a look at their Export Markets page to locate country profiles, industry overviews to help you research market opportunities.
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
DFAT's role is to advance the interests of Australia and Australians internationally. This involves working to strengthen Australia's security; enhancing Australia's prosperity; and helping Australian travellers and Australians overseas. The department also provides foreign and trade policy advice to the government.
DFAT's Country, Economy and Regional Resources
Information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of almost 240 countries and economies. Also provides economic snapshots of selected countries, economies and regions.
DFAT's Trade Policies, Treaties and News
Trade liberalisation through bilateral, regional and global trade agreements that open up new markets for Australian exporters and sustain a strong, rules-based architecture for global trade.

News and Media (Micro and Macro environment)

Factiva
Factiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources - including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters and The Associated Press, as well as journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.

FairFax Media Newspaper
Our subscription to Fairfax Media Newspapers covers access to The Age ; Australian Financial Review and The Sydney Morning Herald.

Newsbank Access Australia
Newsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
News Limited Newspapers
First time users: Register for your digital subscription using your Deakin email address.
For subsequent use: Once you have setup your account, go to Geelong Advertiser or The Australian and login. To view print layout select Digital Print Edition option. You will also have access to the following newspapers: The Herald Sun, The Daily Telegraph, The Courier Mail, The Advertiser (Adelaide), Cairns Post, Gold Coast Bulletin, NT News, Townsville Bulletin, and The Mercury.

Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.

Open Access Resources

Global Edge
Funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.
Retail in Asia
RetailinAsia.com is the first and best source of retail intelligence on the fast-growing retail industry in Asia Pacific. It provides readers with the latest news, advice, updates and reports on everything that is happening across the Asian retail landscape.

Management