Video and image resources
Deakin Library has a huge collection of streaming videos for you to view. Our collection includes educational and recreational material. See below for audiovisual materials related to Biological Sciences.
Recommended videos
-
OUP biology. 18, How does the greenhouse effect work?Things are heating up. We explore how the greenhouse effect works, including causing global warming, climate change and consequent effects.
-
JoVE Journal BiologyJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Biology includes standard techniques and novel experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
-
Alexander Street VideoAlexander Street Video is a cross-searchable database to video collections.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for films and documentaries.
-
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) includes peer reviewed videos of scientific experiments showing the intricate details of the experiments.
Recommended Image sources
-
Cell Image LibraryFreely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
-
MolviZ "Top 5"Online 3D molecular visualization technologies recommended by the University of Massachusetts.
Finding images
There are loads of great, high-quality images you can find online that are considered Public Domain. This means that the creator is happy for you to use them without paying for them or asking their permission. Attribution is not needed, but it’s still good to credit the creator by including their details.
Here are some reliable websites to search for free images:
- Pixabay - photos, illustrations, vector graphics
- Undraw - illustrations, easily change the colour scheme before downloading
- Freerange – photos, illustrations
- Freepik – photos, vector graphics
- Stocksnap – high-resolution photos
- Unsplash - high-resolution photos
We've chosen an example illustration from Undraw to show the quality of some of these resources.
