Biological Science

Setting the standard for excellence, accuracy, and innovation Campbell Biology, 12th edition, Australian and New Zealand version delivers a trusted, accurate, current, and pedagogically innovative experience that guides students to a true understanding of biology.

Comprehensive biology resource introduces the nature and scope of biology and science, exploring unifying themes, the origin of life, cell theory, and evolution through natural selection.

Lively, clear writing paired with exceptional illustrations and Dynamic Figures. Incorporates new research throughout, highlighting emerging research areas like COVID-19.

A logical progression beginning with an introduction to cells and concluding with an overview of current techniques in cellular and molecular biology. Each brief chapter effectively separates core concepts, clarifying each individually and creating a set of building blocks that allow students to fully comprehend one aspect of the subject matter before moving on to the next.

For more than four decades, Molecular Biology of the Cell has distilled the vast amount of scientific knowledge to illuminate basic principles, enduring concepts, and cutting-edge research. The Seventh Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research, and has been thoroughly vetted by experts and instructors.

Molecular Biology (3rd ed.) is a comprehensive, updated resource for life sciences and medical students, featuring new chapters on non-coding RNA, genome defense, and epigenetics, plus expanded coverage of RNAi, CRISPR, genome editing, and proteomics.

Molecular Biology Techniques: A Classroom Laboratory Manual, Fourth Edition is a must-have collection of methods and procedures on how to create a single, continuous, comprehensive project that teaches students basic molecular techniques.

In this book, various key terms of Genetics have been explained in detail. Genetics is the scientific study of genes and heredity--of how certain qualities or traits are passed from parents to offspring as a result of changes in DNA sequence. A gene is a segment of DNA that contains instructions for building one or more molecules that help the body work.

This ecology textbook, grounded in an evolutionary perspective, introduces the history and nature of the field, explores Earth’s biomes, and covers population genetics and natural selection. It progresses through adaptations, population ecology, species interactions, community and ecosystem ecology, and large-scale ecological patterns, providing a clear, cohesive understanding of the discipline from local to global perspectives.

Helping ecologists understand the mathematical foundations of their theories. This edition emphasizes modern developments, synthesizing historical ideas within current frameworks, presenting novel theories from the last 20 years, and exploring emerging applications such as disease and global change theory.

Inspiring students to understand and address today’s environmental challenges. Using sustainability as a central theme, the text covers ecosystems, evolution, biodiversity, population ecology, and more, enriched with over 100 new photos, maps, and illustrations.

The focus is on current concepts in evolutionary ecology and the empirical study of these concepts. Chapters are written by prominent biologists who have made significant contributions to this field and both synthesize the current state of knowledge and identify areas for future investigation.

This book covers evolution from its historical foundations to modern insights, including natural selection, genetic variation, trait evolution, species interactions, macroevolution, human evolution, and evolutionary medicine, integrating empirical studies and the roles of genes, development, and behaviour.

Covers the core maths skills you will need on any life or medical sciences course. This second edition also now provides further coverage of differentiation and integration alongside nearly 70 more questions and answers to help you test your understanding.

In this fifth edition, Stats: data and models retains its engaging, conversational tone and characteristic humou and continues to favor statistical thinking over calculation. Drawing on the 2016 revision of the Guidelines for Assessment and Instruction in Statistical Education (GAISE).

Provides a comprehensive introduction to biological and medical physics, beginning with the mechanics of biological systems, including kinematics, forces, Newton’s laws, torque, and momentum. It covers energy, thermodynamics, and transport phenomena, such as fluid flow and thermal physics, followed by elasticity, vibrations, waves, sound, and electric phenomena. The text also addresses atomic, electromagnetic, and optical concepts, including magnetism, optics, and the atomic nucleus, and concludes with applied clinical physics topics, such as diagnostic ultrasound, X-ray and nuclear imaging, MRI, and radiation therapy.