Standards and patents
Standards and patents can help highlight real world practice and innovation in fields of Biological Science. Standards provide rules and recommendations for safety, quality, and testing in labs and industry. Patents reveal the details of inventions. Below is a list of useful resources for finding standards and patents.
Standards
-
Australian StandardsThis database provides full text of Australian Standards, draft standards and handbooks, and indexing to ISO Standards.
Access Information: You will need to register for an account using your Deakin email address.
Download FileOpen plugin and Adobe Reader onto your personal device to download the standards.
(4 concurrent users)
-
Industrial Chemicals Environmental Management StandardEstablishes nationally consistent standards for managing the import, manufacture, export, use, and disposal of industrial chemicals. These standards work to reduce the impact of industrial chemicals on the environment.
-
National Environmental Standards from Australian Government Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and WaterRead about the benefits of this act to protect our unique plants, animals, habitats and places.
-
NHMRC Australian code for the care and use of animals for scientific purposesThe code promotes the ethical, humane and responsible care and use of animals used for scientific purposes. It provides guidance for investigators, institutions, animals ethics committees, animal carers and all those involved in the care and use of animals for scientific purposes.
-
Security Sensitive Biological Agents (SSBA) StandardsThe Security Sensitive Biological Agent (SSBA) Standards outline the handling, storage, disposal and transport requirements of confirmed and suspected SSBAs under the National Health Security Regulations 2018. Entities that handle suspected or known SSBAs must comply with these standards.
Patents
-
IP Australia - Biological inventionsDiscover how you can protect some biological materials, and genetically or phenotypically modified biological inventions. There are additional application requirements for biological inventions.
-
IP Australia - PatentsLearn what a patent is, how to find existing patents, and how to apply for one.
-
CAS SciFinder-NCAS SciFinder-N is a database that provides integrated access to comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder-N is an upgrade from SciFinder Scholar.
-
Google PatentsSearch and find the full text of patents from around the world.
-
USPTOUnited States Patent and Trademark Office.
-
European Patent OfficeProvides high-quality patents and efficient services that foster innovation, competitiveness and economic growth.
-
PATENTSCOPE - World Intellectual Property (WIPO)Patent search system provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) that allows you to access millions of patent documents.
Tip
Need help searching for standards and patents? Explore the Standards and Patents resource guide.