Databases and journals
Library databases contain journals articles. Journal articles are also known as peer reviewed, scholarly, academic or refereed articles.
There isn’t one database which has everything. It’s important to search multiple databases to find the most relevant information. Our recommendations for Forensic Science databases, where you can find suitable journals, news and multimedia are below.
Tip
Need help searching the databases? There are instructions for searching the Library Databases in the Search Strategies and Tips - How to use Library Databases section of this guide.
Recommended databases
Multidisciplinary
-
Web of ScienceThe Web of Science interface includes Web of Science Core Collections including the Arts & humanities citation index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions and Book Citation Indexes and also hosts the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (1926-2016), SciELO citation index, MEDLINE and Zoological record.
-
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
-
ScienceDirectScienceDirect provides indexing and full text of journal articles in the following subjects: Chemistry, Chemical Engineerin, Clinical Medicine, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Economics, Business and Management Science, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics,Astronomy, Social Science. Full text is only available for the journals to which Deakin University subscribes. The University has purchased a number of back issue journal sets from ScienceDirect. For many of these titles, the most current volumes will not be available in full text.
-
Sage Journals OnlineSage journals provide access to international journals, including high-impact research titles published on by scholarly and professional societies. Spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
-
CSIRO PublishingCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) publishes literature in a wide range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to an online electronic archive of major journal titles and e-books. The JSTOR collection covers subject areas such as: Arts and Sciences Biological sciences Business Ecology and Botany General Science Language and Literature Mathematics and Statistics Sustainability, Security and Music.
Biology
-
BioOne CompleteBioOne Complete covers the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection offers comprehensive core subject coverage of agriculture and agronomy, biodiversity conservation, ecology, entomology, environmental sciences, evolutionary biology, geology and paleontology, marine and freshwater biology, ornithology, plant sciences, veterinary sciences and zoology.
-
Biological Science CollectionThe Biological Science Collection includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals.
Biomedicine
-
Medline CompleteMEDLINE Complete is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, containing full text for journals.
-
PubMedPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to more than 29 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. This is a publically accessible version of Medline. PubMed is updated daily and will link to the full text of articles if they are available on the Internet
-
OsmosisOsmosis is a learning platform with study tools and materials, this platform covers medical topics which includes videos, board-style questions and flashcards. Osmosis is specialised for medical, nursing, allied health.
Recommended journals
-
Nature cell biologyNature Cell Biology publishes papers of the highest quality from all areas of cell biology, encouraging those that shed light on the mechanisms underlying fundamental cell biological processes.
-
PLoS biologyPLOS Biology publishes significant advances across the biological sciences. And we push boundaries.
Designed to advance science and the communities that depend upon it, we’re transforming research communication to fit the research process. -
BMC biologyBMC Biology is an open-access journal publishing outstanding research in all areas of biology, with a publication policy that combines selection for broad interest and importance with a commitment to serving authors well.
-
Nature structural & molecular biologyNature Structural & Molecular Biology is an integrated forum for structural and molecular studies. The journal places a strong emphasis on functional and mechanistic understanding of how molecular components in a biological process work together.
-
ACS chemical biologyACS Chemical Biology provides an international forum for the rapid communication of research that broadly embraces the interface between chemistry and biology.
-
Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series B, Biological sciencesPhilosophical Transactions B publishes high-quality theme issues on topics of current importance and general interest within the life sciences, guest-edited by leading authorities and comprising new research, reviews and opinions from prominent researchers.
-
Journal of Cell Science (JCS)Journal of Cell Science (JCS) publishes cutting-edge science, encompassing all aspects of cell biology. The research and review articles in the journal challenge understanding and stimulate interest, showcasing scientific excellence in cell biology.
-
Biology Open (BiO)Biology Open (BiO) is an Open Access journal that publishes rigorously conducted, high-quality research across the breadth of the biological and biomedical sciences. The journal has a strong focus on supporting researchers and reducing the pain of publishing.
-
Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews offers collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, synthesizing primary research literature in 29 scientific disciplines.
-
JoVE Journal BiologyJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Biology includes standard techniques and novel experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
-
Nature ProtocolsNature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry.
Tip
BrowZine allows you to access Deakin Library journal articles in one application. It allows you to bookmark, select favourite journals, set up alerts and more.