Indigenous resources
This page provides tips for finding resources on Indigenous knowledges including resources by Australian First Nations authors.
Tip
We have curated a list of materials for you to explore on Indigenous Knowledges and Perspectives - Architecture and Built Environment. The list includes Indigenous perspectives around Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (Indigenous Australian) knowledge, cultures and histories when it comes to the Architecture and Built Environment discipline.
Finding Indigenous knowledges resources from the Library
Click the plus (+) icons below to learn how to find Indigenous knowledge resources using Library Search and specific databases.
Library Search
Author search
To search for a particular Indigenous author, select the field Author and key in the name [last name first] e.g. Yunkaporta, Tyson
Subject search
Books about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, their culture, laws etc. are currently classified under “Aboriginal Australians” followed by a sub-heading or narrower terms e.g. Aboriginal Australians--Bandjalang (Australian People) or Aboriginal Australians -- Land Tenure.
A subject field search for “Aboriginal Australians” (include the double quote marks) plus additional keywords related to your topic will retrieve items in that area in the context of Australia’s First Nations peoples.
You can limit to Source type (e.g. books, ebooks, academic journals) from the list of options on the left hand side of the results screen.
Subject databases
AusLit Database
A feature of AustLit, is BlackWords, which provides access to a vast record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and their publications. The database is searchable, and provides essays and publications on authors as well as themed ‘trails’ guiding educators around different cultural and historical topics.
Streaming video resources
Streaming video resources can be accessed via A-Z Databases by title or filter Streaming video
Informit EduTV
Informit EduTV is a searchable database that contains educational content from Australian free-to-air channels covering TV series, films and documentaries. Titles include: episodes from Living Black, First Australians, Lake of Scars, The Australian Wars, Incarceration Nation and more.
To search for First Nations content:
1. Go to the Library homepage > A-Z Databases
2. Key in EduTV in the search box
3. At the top of the search screen select Advanced Search
4. Key in the term First Nations or Aboriginal Australians and select the field Subject
5. Select filters for Resource type, Genre etc. as relevant.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers a wide range of quality films and documentaries.
Search by title or creator or browse collections. Films and documentaries with First Nations content can be found under:
- Global studies and languages>Indigenous Studies>Indigenous Peoples of Australia. Titles include In My Blood It Runs, Stolen Generations, Utopia and more.
Ethnographic video online: Indigenous Voices
Ethnographic video online: Indigenous Voices A platform dedicated to First Nations filmmakers, enabling Indigenous voices to address issues from Indigenous perspectives. Select the filter icon to find relevant First Nations content for your context.
Further resources
-
Cite and reference Indigenous knowledges
A guide for Deakin teaching staff and undergraduate students to consider incorporating Indigenous knowledges and perspectives into their coursework. - Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP)
A rights-based approach to respecting Indigenous knowledge systems. It encompasses the knowledge, innovations, and cultural expressions of Indigenous peoples. Many aspects of Indigenous knowledges are related to communal knowledge held by groups of Indigenous peoples. ICIP is a way to recognise intellectual property rights in a system that is based on individual and corporate rights.
- Ethical engagement with Indigenous data
The FAIR, CARE and TRUST principles are designed to ensure that data is manage and used in ways that are ethical and beneficial.
- Indigenous Data Governance and Sovereignty
Refers to the collection, access, use, management, ownership and control of Indigenous data.
- Indigenous Research Methodologies
Encompasses a range of approaches based on the values, traditions and knowledge systems of Indigenous peoples.