Maps and mapping tools
Discover maps and mapping tools to help with your research, assignments, and study projects.
Tip
Check out the Finding maps guide for support with your studies and research, offering resources for various types of maps in the Deakin Library collection, including geographic, architectural, geological, historical, and Indigenous Australian maps.
Map collections
- Map collections at State Library of Victoria
State Library of Victoria has an extensive collection of maps of Melbourne and Victoria, as well as Australian and international maps and charts. Much of the collection is available online.
- Trove
Search Trove to explore collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives.
Refine your search to 'Images, Maps & Artefacts' and enter the region or place name. - Geoscience Australia
Locate and download Australian topographic maps.
Mapping tools
- Nearmap
High quality PhotoMaps over Australian cities and towns that are updated monthly. Changes over time can be seen using TimeView on the map page and locations can be seen from the side using the MultiView button on the map page when zooming in to building level detail. Available to Deakin staff and students.
- Google Maps
Google Maps is a desktop web mapping service. It includes satellite imagery, street maps, 360° panoramic views of streets (Street View).
- City of Melbourne’s open data platform
A growing number of publicly available City of Melbourne datasets to explore, export, visualise or map. Includes pedestrian, CLUE, transport, environment, buildings and dwellings data.