Bibliographic management tools
Once the searches have been run, export the search results into a bibliographic management tool.
Bibliographic management tools are useful software for managing search results from literature reviews, as they allow you to store and organise records from databases and search engines. They support reporting and transparency in your review by enabling the tracking of results found in each database.
Additional helpful features of a bibliographic management tool managing search results for literature reviews, include:
- Generating and managing list of references and bibliographies.
- Deduplication (identifying and removing duplicate records from multiple databases prior to the screening stage)
- Locating and storing full text of articles
- Making notes about decisions in records
Tip
If you plan on using a bibliographic management tool for your review, decide on the tool during the protocol stage of your review.
If you are working on multiple projects, it's a good idea to create a new library for your review. Ensure the library has a clear file and folder structure, such as setting up a folder for each database search run in your review.
Deduplication
The databases you are searching for your review may contain the similar literature. When running a search in multiple databases, it’s common to retrieve the same literature from more than one database.
Deduplication is the process of identifying and removing duplicate records from your search results. It ensures that each piece of literature is represented only once, preventing overrepresentation of certain studies, saving time during screening.
Be sure to document the number of results before and after deduplication to maintain transparency and track the impact of the deduplication process on your search results.
Note
For further information, check out the EndNote guide. Other tools which enable deduplication are Covidence, LitQuest (both screening tools) and the TERA Deduplicator.
Tools to organise and manage references
There are different types of bibliographic management tools that you can use for your review. Such as tools are endorsed by Deakin, open sourced, etc.
Click on the plus (+) icons below to explore some tools that can be used to manage bibliographic records.
Endnote
EndNote is a reference management software used to organise and manage bibliographic references for academic research. You can access this resource via Deakin subscription. EndNote's reference management features and integration with other platforms allows you to use it at different stages of a review.
Storage
- Import references from databases in RIS format
- Local and online storage
- Create a backup of your EndNote library
Organisation
- Create custom groups and folders to organise your references
- Deduplicate search results
- Include PDFs and annotations to references
Screening
- Share your EndNote library
- Classify resources using tags
- Set up separate libraries for blind screening
- Export your EndNote library to other screening software (e.g. Covidence)
Further information support explore our EndNote guide or Clarivate Analytics Technical support for EndNote.
Zotero
Zotero is a freeium open-source reference management software that helps users collect, organise, cite, and share research materials. Zotero can be used at different stages of your review.
Storage
- Import references from databases in RIS format
- Create a backup of your Zotero library
Organisation
- Create new collections to organise your library
- Deduplicate your search results
- Include PDFs and annotations to references
Screening
- Share your library with your research group using the Zotero website
- Undertake title and abstract screening by progressing through the records in your Zotero library
For further information explore the Zotero support page.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free research management tool that contains a combination of desktop applications and online features. It can help researchers to organise, share, and collaborate in research. Mendeley is only suitable for a reviews if you have the desktop version already downloaded.
Storage
- Import references from PDFs or files from your computer
- Back up your Mendeley library
Organisation
- Group your references
- Include PDFs and annotations to references
- Very limited deduplication option
Screening and tracking
- Share references with other researchers
- Supports bulk pdf upload to Covidence for full text screening
- Collect all the reviewer highlights and comments in one place
For further information explore Mendeley help guides.
Steps to export the search results from a database
Each database will be different, but these steps are common:
- Go to the results listing
- Look for an option to share or export the results
- Look for an option to select results. With large numbers of results, you may need to select these in batches, e.g. records 1-5000, then records 5001-10000).
- When prompted for a file format, choose RIS format (or the name of the reference management tool).
Note
For further information, check out the EndNote guide. For more specific instructions, seek out the 'Help' sections of each platform for more specific instructions, or contact your librarian.