Web of Science Researcher Profile
What
Web of Science Researcher Profile is an author profile system where you can claim publications, track your citations and metrics, and manage your Web of Science record. Partnerships with journals are in place to verify your peer-review and journal editing history in your profile.
Applications
- Manage your publications in the Web of Science database
- Get publication metrics for your work indexed in Web of Science, such as h-index and citation counts
- Get a Web of Science ResearcherID identifier to use in the research analytics product, InCites
- To demonstrate your peer-review and journal editing history
- Link your ORCID ID to your Web of Science Researcher Profile
Considerations
- Web of Science algorithmically generates author records
- You need to claim and verify your profile for yourself by logging in with your Web of Science account
- Free limited view of the the profile is available without product subscription
- You can add any of your publications to your Web of Science profile, but metrics will only be provided for publications indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection database.
- Web of Science Researcher Profiles are replacing Publons. All Publons profiles have now moved into WoS.
How to: Manage your Web of Science Author profile
Create your Web of Science Researcher profile
- Go to Web of Science > Researcher search
- Sign in or register to Web of Science (if you have a login for Endnote you can use the same one as the products are all owned by Clarivate)
- Type your last name into the search box, and select the matching option. Do the same for your first name or initial. Include alternative names if appropriate, and click Search
- Click on your name in the results list, OR, if there are multiple profiles containing your publications, tick the ones you want to include and click View Combined Record
- Click Claim My Record on the author record page
- Follow the steps to verify your publications and then click Submit
- Verified author profiles show a green checkmark next to the author name
- Once the publications are linked to your profile you can make edits to update your profile
More information on the Clarivate Knowledgebase page.
Web of Science ResearcherID
- By claiming your publications in Web of Science you will be assigned a Web of Science ResearcherID.
- This means when someone searches for you on Web of Science, the profile they see there, is linked to your Researcher profile, which you can manage.
- This makes it a lot easier for people to find a full list of your publications in Web of Science, and you can use your ResearcherID to see your profile in the analytics product InCites.
ORCID and Web of Science Researcher Profile
To link your ORCID profile to your Web of Science Researcher profile:
- Log in to your Web of Science account
- Click on the Researcher Profile icon on the left-hand-side of the page
- Click on Edit next to your name
- In the profile setting page, click on ORCID Syncing tab
- Make edits, then click Save changes
Add or remove publications from your Web of Science Researcher Profile
- Log in to your Web of Science account
- Click on the Researcher Profile icon on the left-hand-side of the page
- Click on Manage button on the top of your publications list
- You can add or delete publications on your publications record page
- You can choose to import from Web of Science, sync with ORCID, or import via identifier or file upload
Manage reviews in your Web of Science Researcher Profile
To find information and instructions for adding and managing reviews you performed for journals, please visit the Manage Reviews support page. The page includes the following topics:
- Review Types on Web of Science Researcher Profile
- Review Eligibility
- How to add my Publisher-invited reviews?
- How to add my Community reviews?
- How to add my Grant reviews?
- My review receipt for an integrated journal was rejected
- How to edit or delete a review record?
- Review Privacy on Web of Science researcher profile
- How can I request feedback from editors for my reviews?
- How can I invite my review collaborators?
View publications not indexed in Web of Science Core Collection
- Publications not indexed in Web of Science can be added to Web of Science Researcher profiles. But metrics will only be provided for publications indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection database.
- To view these publications in any Researcher profile, click on the box next to "Include publications not indexed in Core Collection" on the top of the publications list.
Help resources for Web of Science Researcher Profiles
Find information and FAQs related to the Web of Science Researcher Profiles on the Clarivate Knowledgebase page.