Welcome to your Nursing and Midwifery resource guide
This guide contains information provided by your librarians to help you with your studies and support your research.
Read through the outlines below to learn what is covered in each section of this guide. You can navigate to each of these sections via the menu on the left.
Search Strategies and Tips: Guides you through the step-by-step process of finding literature.
Databases: Provides links to relevant databases to begin your search.
Books and e-books: Contains links to relevant textbooks, dictionaries and ways to use e-books.
Web resources and Google: Contains links to relevant websites, professional associations, and tips for efficiently searching Google.
Online video and image collections: Provides links to video and multimedia collections you can use in your studies.
Drug information: Contains links to key sources of drug information.
Statistics: Contains links to relevant websites for health statistics.
Referencing
It is important that you acknowledge all the sources you use in your writing so that you:
- show your assessor how widely you have read
- provide evidence to support and strengthen your arguments and statements
- demonstrate academic integrity
- enable the reader to locate the sources referred and credit the original author(s) for their work.
Refer to the Deakin Guide to Referencing and select the correct style for your unit. If you are unsure, check with your unit chair. For specific referencing questions, you can also contact Deakin Study Support as they maintain and update the Deakin Guide to Referencing.