Search Help
Looking for a Search Planner to help you plan your search?
- Search Planner (DOC, 68KB)This planner helps you collect search terms then organise them with the search tips to write a great search!
Fore more help searching with the databases check out our Finding Evidence for Health guide.
Sources to find journal articles
These databases contain large collections of journal articles, reports, studies, conference papers, news articles and editorials specific to Nursing & Midwifery studies
- CINAHL CompleteCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. A great database for articles from nursing and allied health journals.
Watch this video (3:21) on basic searching for CINAHL. Watch this video (3:32) on using CINAHL Headings.
- Medline CompleteA major biomedical database including research on medicine, nursing and health.
Watch this video (6:49) on searching Medline Complete. Watch this video (3:32) on using MeSH Headings.
- EmcareContains many of the most influential journals in the field of Nursing and Health care.
Watch the video (9:32) on using Emcare.
- Academic Search CompleteComprehensive full text database on Humanities and Social Sciences includes material in health and social sciences.
Watch the video (7:02) on using Academic Search Complete.
- APA PsycInfoThe largest resource devoted to behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records.
- Informit: Health SubsetContains Australian content. These databases cover a wide range of relevant topics and include APAIS-Health, Meditext, Health & Society and Rural and Remote Health.
- EBSCOHost DatabasesHere is a quick link to all EBSCOhost databases for your convenience.
See the A-Z Database List to search all databases by subject.
These databases contain large collections of journal articles, reports, studies, conference papers, news articles and editorials specific to Nursing & Midwifery studies
- Maternity and Infant CareThe Maternity & Infant care database (also known as MIDIRS) spans a wide range of subject areas, including pregnancy, labour, birth, neonatal and postnatal care and the midwifery profession.
- EmcareEmcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education it uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in wide variety of healthcare settings.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey supports decision making for a range of medical and surgical specialties.
See the A-Z Database List to search all databases by subject.
It is important that drug information is independent and specific to Australian recommendations. These are the resources we recommend.
Evidence based website. Consumer and health professional information.
- Australian Medicines HandbookThe AMH provides independent evidence based recommendations on drug use in an easy-to-use, up-to-date format for clinical professionals.
- eTG CompleteAn independent source for drug and dosing information in Australia. This is a comprehensive guide for clinical practice.
- Australian injectable drugs handbookCurrently the 5th Edition. A collaboration between nurses and pharmacists, this comprehensive reference includes 426 injectable medicines.
- EmbaseEmbase is an important biomedical, pharmaceutical and clinical database. It contains records from Medline, but indexes the records differently. Embase includes 5 million records not covered by Medline
- MIMS OnlineThe leading independent drug information source for Australian health professionals. Includes drug interactions and identification.
For further resources see the Drug information tab of this guide
Students looking for a wider range of resources for their research may find these links useful. In particular Embase, Scopus and Web of Science should always be included in a comprehensive of systematic review of the literature.
- EmbaseEmbase is an important biomedical, pharmaceutical and clinical database. It contains records from across Europe similar to Medline with a strong focus on Randomised Controlled Trials and Pharmaceuticals. Embase includes 5 million records not covered by Medline.
Watch the video (42:01) on using Embase.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science Core Collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citations Index. To access these databases, select Core Collection using the drop-down next to the Search arrow, then click More Settings.
Watch the video (5:12) on using Web of Science.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences.
Watch the video (4:31) on using Scopus.
Systematic Review Collections
These are collections of systematic reviews focused on Health.
- Cochrane LibraryA collection of databases of evidence based health care, including systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, and other research to inform health care decision making.
PubMed includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles dating back to 1949. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Search for systematic reviews, or search for evidence using the Clinical Queries filters for therapy, diagnosis, aetiology or prognosis.
- Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based PracticeThe Joanna Briggs database includes publications and a range of evidence based products including systematic reviews and technical reports.
General Health Collections
These are more general collections on different areas of health such as Policy, Public Health, you may have a specialty area or particular journals which are only available in these databases.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)Provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many many areas such as physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
Watch the video (2:11) on performing a basic search on ProQuest Health & Medical Collection. Watch the video (2:13) on performing an advanced search on ProQuest Health & Medical Collection.
- Health source - Nursing/Academic editionScholarly full text nursing journal articles. Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Watch this video on (5:47) on using Health Source / Nursing Academic.
- Health Policy Reference CenterThis is a very broad collection designed to support policy decision making in the Health industry. Topics include health care access, health care quality, health care financing, public health etc.
See the A-Z Database List to search all databases by subject.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.