Marine, Freshwater and Aquaculture Sciences

• Algaebase
  AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. AlgaeBase is purely meant as an aid to taxonomic studies and not a definitive source in its own right. You should always check the information included prior to use.
  • Direct link to search: Genus nameSpecis name
  • Direct link to search: Specis name
  • [ To cite this website: Guiry, M.D. & Guiry, G.M. 2016. AlgaeBase. World-wide electronic publication, National University of Ireland, Galway. http://www.algaebase.org; searched on [ add date] ]
     
• Atlas of Living Australia : sharing biodiversity knowledge 
  A great resource for finding the distribution maps and literature relating to individual species in Australia (includes fish, birds, reptiles, mammals, invertebrates and plants).
   
• Australian Institute of Marine Science 
  Stay up-to-date with this useful Australian site with many links to additional resources.
   
• BBC's The Blue Planet 
  BBC's website includes sea life and Blue Planet information and images from the film of the same title.
  • The Blue Planet series is available via Kanopy
     
• CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
  The best website for Australian marine research
   
• IMOS Integrated Marine Observing System 
  Find out what is currently happening in Australia's oceans. Includes details of research into the physical, chemical and biological variables of Australia's oceans.
   
• Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory
  Includes information on El Nino/La Nina, tsunami monitoring, undersea vents, atmosphere/ocean interchange, climate change, marine ecosystems and fisheries.
   
• Redmap 
  Interactive website where the Australian community can spot and map unusual marine species.
   
• Tide predictions for Australia
  An essential site for anyone doing marine fieldwork. Includes meteorology, weather, warnings, climate and predictions.
   
• Victorian Biodiversity Atlas 
  Species distribution information for fauna and flora - over six million records, managed by the Victorian Department of Environment and Primary Industries
   
• WoRMS - World Register of Marine Species
  The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature. [ To cite: WoRMS Editorial Board (2015). World Register of Marine Species. Available from http://www.marinespecies.org at VLIZ. Accessed yyyy-mm-dd ]
   
• Coasts & Oceans NIWA,  NZ National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research 
  NIWA aims to provide the knowledge needed for the sound environmental management of our marine resources

• Water Measurement Information System

  Water Measurement Information System is the primary access point to search, discover, access and download surface water and groundwater monitoring data collected by Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) and its partners.

• Australian Society for Limnology

  Scientific Society whose focus is to study and manage inland waters.

• FBA - Freshwater Biological Association

  British based international association that is great resource for world freshwater information.

• Glenelg Hopkins Catchment Management Authority

  The GHCMA responsible for the planning and implementation of strategies to protect and enhance the health of the region's biodiversity, soils and land of the Glenelg - Hopkins region of 25,000 square kilometres. Excellent local website.

• VicWater

  Catchment Management Authorities. CMAs are provided with regional waterway, floodplain, drainage and environmental water reserve management powers under the Water Act 1989.

Australian

• Fisheries Home (Australian Government Department of Agriculture, and Water Resources)
  Includes reviews on fisheries management, legislation and policies.
• Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA)
  AFMA is responsible for the efficient management and sustainable use of Australia's fisheries resources.
• Aquaculture Council of Western Australia
  Aquaculture resources site with the latest industry news, jobs, equipment consultants etc..
• Fisheries Research & Development Corporation (FRDC)
  This useful Australian website includes fisheries statistics, research reports and a searchable database.
• Australian Society for Fish Biology
  Includes news, jobs, conferences, Regional larval fish archives, and publications.
• Fisheries and aquaculture statistics
  Report contains comprehensive information on commercial fishing and aquaculture in Australia covering fisheries production, trade data and consumption and employment statistics.

International

• American Fisheries Society 
  The best US website for aquaculture and fisheries.
• Asian Fisheries Society 
  The main Asian aquaculture organisation.
• European Aquaculture Society 
  The peak European aquaculture body.
• FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department
  The Food and Agriculture site is rich in resources relevant to worldwide fisheries and aquaculture.
• NACA: Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific
  NACA is an intergovernmental organisation that promotes rural development through sustainable aquaculture. This website includes a wide range of full text publications publications.
• World Aquaculture Society 
  International Society with world wide membership.