E-books, Books and Reference Material
Books are a great way to get an in-depth overview of a topic. Deakin Library holds both print books and e-books.
Below are some recommendations along with details on reference materials, such as encyclopedias and statistics. You can also search the Library Catalogue for books and e-books by using keywords, or, if you know the book you are looking for, search by title or author. There are tips for searching the catalogue in the video on the Search Strategies and Tips - Finding Resources for your Assessment page of this guide.
E-books Collections
The Library has lots of great e-book collections. You can search within one of the specific collections below. Or, to search all e-books, you can use the Library Search and limit your results to show only e-books.
The Library has help pages for using e-books. The easiest way to read an e-book is to access and read it online without downloading it. If you are going to be using the e-book when you have no internet access, you may wish to download the e-book. Each e-book platform can look a bit different, but most have similar features.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralProQuest Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers.
- ScienceDirect eBooksScienceDirect eBooks is a collection of titles covering a range of subject areas including Earth and Planetary Science and Oceanography
- Cambridge Core e-booksA wide collection of books published by Cambridge University, including a range of Earth and Environmental science titles.
- Wiley Online Library BooksLarge collection of online journals and e-books, including titles on Aquaculture & Fisheries, and Earth & Environmental sciences.
- CSIRO eBook collectionAustralia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) covers a wide range of disciplines including plant and animal sciences, farming, urban development and environmental management.
- KnovelKnovel provides a searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering. In particular, you can find content relating to Marine Energy and Marine Engineering.
Featured Books in the Library
Below are some books on Marine, Aquatic and Aquaculture topis which have been recently added to our collections.
The Blue Planet (2011) by Call Number: 550 Ski/Bpa 2011The Third Edition of Blue Planet: An Introduction to Earth System Science treats earth science from a systems perspective, showing how the four spheres (lithosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere, biosphere) are interrelated. In this edition, significant emphasis is placed on cycling of materials and energy, and interactions among the spheres.
Toxic (2021) by Call Number: 639.375609946 Fla/TtrIs Tasmanian salmon one big lie? This is Richard Flanagan's chilling exposé of the salmon farming industry in Tasmania.
Marine Biology (2021) by Call Number: 578.77 Lev/Mbf 2022Levinton's Marine Biology is highly acclaimed and regarded by many as the best, most authoritative text for marine biology students. This book balances organismal and ecological focus by including the latest developments from the world of molecular biology, global climate change, and oceanic processes.
Fisheries and Aquaculture (2020) by Call Number: Online AccessThis book takes a multidisciplinary approach in evaluating the fisheries and aquaculture sectors from the scientific and practical perspectives of industry professionals. It takes a unique and innovative approach to show how fisheries and aquaculture can achieve sustainability and how small fishery communities can become highly successful.
Australian Marine Life (2009) by Call Number: 578.770994 Edg/Aml 2008Australian Marine Life gives the reader a porthole through which to glimpse the wonderful plants and animals of Australia's temperate waters.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference OnlineA collection of digitised entries from across Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Subjects cover over 25 core subject areas.
Statistics
Sometimes you may need to refer to statistics for your assessments. Below are some good starting points for finding reliable stats.
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsAustralian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
- Environmental and Ecological Statistics (journal)Environmental & Ecological Statistics broadly covers theory and methods, case studies and applications, environmental change and statistical ecology, environmental health statistics and stochastics, and related areas.
- GreendexProduced by National Geographic. A study of 17,000 consumers in 17 countries was conducted and their choices in relation to transportation, energy use and conservation, food sources, the relative use of green products versus traditional products, attitudes towards the environment and sustainability, and knowledge of environmental issues were collated.