How do I use the Library Databases?
You can access the Library Databases through the A-Z Database Guide (try filtering by subject area!) or use the suggested Databases in the 'Resource Recommendations' section of this guide.
Searching a database is a little different to searching Google. You will need to use some specific techniques to retrieve relevant and suitable content and it's always a good idea to plan out your search strategy before you start using the databases.
Planning your search
Before you begin looking for resources for your assessment or project, focus on planning your search strategy. A little time spent on this now will save you time and frustration later. Approach your search with these simple steps.
Now Combine your Keywords with some Database Search Techniques
Once you’ve chosen your keywords, join them together using search techniques to create a search strategy. Use the tabs below to learn about some common database search techniques.
Phrase searching narrows a search to show results that contain an exact phrase.
This is useful when you want to search for a certain string of words.
To conduct a phrase search, add double quotation marks around two or more words you want to search for.
For example: searching for "climate change" will only return records that contain this exact term. The search will not return results where the word 'climate' or 'change' appear alone.
Truncation searching broadens a search to show results that include words with variation.
To conduct a truncation search, use an asterisk character * to signify where the variation should exist.
Use this when you want to show results that include words with different endings. For example, searching for impact* will return records that contain any of these words: 'impact', 'impacts', 'impactful', 'impacting' etc.
Truncation searching is sometimes referred to as wildcard searching or stemming.
Boolean searching is a type of search that allows users to combine keywords with operators (such as AND, OR, NOT) to produce more relevant results
Using the word AND between two search terms narrows a search to show results containing both terms.
Conversely, using the word OR between two terms broadens a search to show results containing either term.
Video: Database Search Techniques
Conduct the Search
Below is an example of an advanced search option you’ll find in most databases. It has multiple search boxes with the Boolean operator, AND, listed on the left-hand side. Each concept has been entered into a search box and joined by AND.
Click on the plus icons to learn about each search technique demonstrated.
Activity overview
This interactive activity shows an image of the Library advanced search bars filled in with an example search as follows:
(bushfire OR wildfire)
AND pollut*
AND “air quality”
There are 3 selectable icons that explain each of the search techniques used in this advanced search.
Technique 1: Grouping your words (Quote marks)
Use Quotation marks to search for words in an exact order. This is called phrase searching.
Technique 2: Grouping your words (Brackets)
Brackets can be used to group keywords together, so they are searched first.
Technique 3: Using symbols
Add an asterisk to the end of a keyword to find variant word endings. This is called truncation.
Database Tips
I'm not finding many relevant resources, how can I find more?
To increase your search results you can apply some of the strategies outlined below:
Join similar terms with OR, for example:
university OR higher education to ensure either term appears in your results
Use a ? to replace a character in a word to find different spellings or endings, for example:
organi?ation will find both organisation and organization
Use the truncation symbol at the end of your terms to find variant endings. The truncation symbol is usually the asterisk * for example:
- account* will find account, accounts, accountant, accounting
- teach* will find teach, teacher, teaching
- Australia* will find Australia, Australian, Australians
I'm finding too many resources, how can I narrow my search?
To narrow your search results you can apply some of the strategies outlined below:
Join different concepts or ideas with AND, for example:
primary students and mathematics skills to ensure both terms appear in your results.
Never pay for an article!
If you are using the web or Google Scholar to search for journal articles, never pay for an article! Use the Library’s Bookmarklet Tool to access it.