EndNote

Creating in-text citations and bibliographies with EndNote

EndNote can function in word processors, such as Microsoft Word, to add in-text citations, reference lists, and bibliographies to your documents in various reference styles.

Working with citations in word processors

EndNote allows you to add citations from your library to your documents and automatically creates a bibliography in your selected style. Remember, EndNote citations and bibliographies contain coding, so follow EndNote's guidelines when editing them. 

Check out the following links to learn more about:

• EndNote citations in any word processor
  Explore how you can use EndNote features in a variety of word processors such as Microsoft Word, Word Online, Google Docs, and Apple Pages.
   
• EndNote and PowerPoint
  Discover how to insert citations and references from EndNote into PowerPoint.
   
• EndNote and Apple Pages
  Learn how to install the EndNote plug-in on Apple Pages.
   
• Removing a formatted citation
  Steps on how to properly remove a formatted citation in a document.
   
• Managing Instant Formatting settings in Word
  Understand how Instant Formatting works when writing using Word.

Referencing styles

Citations in your document include in-text citations within the body and a reference list at the end, providing full bibliographic details. This format is known as a referencing output style. Different faculties, journals, lecturers, or publishers may have specific styles. EndNote assists in this process, allowing you to apply the required style at any stage of your writing.

Check out the following links to learn more about:

• Deakin referencing styles
  Learn about how and why Deakin uses and references sources in academic writing.
   
• Switch between referencing output styles in EndNote
  The style set in the document (e.g. Microsoft Word) will overwrite the output style you have set up in EndNote. This article provides information on how change a document's style.
   
• Adding a new referencing output style to your EndNote library
  EndNote only installs the most commonly used output styles. Learn how to download and install individual from the EndNote website.
   
• Tailoring journal abbreviations through term lists to cater to referencing styles
  EndNote provides a number of terms list to make sure that journal names in your bibliography are either the full name or abbreviation as your style requires. Explore the instructions to set up your terms list in EndNote.

Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of all the information sources that you have consulted in preparing a document. It includes information sources that weren't cited in the document. EndNote can help users to generate bibliographies for a document in your chosen reference style.

Check out the following links to learn more about:

• Configuring your bibliography
  Discover how to customise Word settings with the Configure Bibliography feature in EndNote.
   
• Creating chapter bibliographies
  Learn how to create a bibliography for a specific section in a document.
   
• Categorising references
  Check out how you can create bibliography categories, such as Books or Journals, in Word.
   
• Creating a plain text copy of a document for publisher submission
  Learn how commands "Convert to Plain Text" or "Remove Field Codes" creates a new copy of the document.
   
• Reinstating EndNote tools in MS Word
  Discover how to restore the EndNote tools on Word.