EndNote

Adding references to an EndNote library

There are multiple ways to add references to an EndNote library:

• Direct export references from database to EndNote
• Exporting large result sets from database to EndNote
• Manually enter references in EndNote

Direct export references from database to EndNote

Exporting search results from bibliographic databases is an effective method for incorporating references into your EndNote library. While specific procedures may vary across different databases, the general steps are as follows: 

1. Select the references you wish to export to EndNote, this could involve: 
   1. ticking a box next to each reference, 
   2. selecting a ‘cite’ option, 
   3. moving references to a saved list, folder, or project.
2. Select the export option, such as Export, Send to, Reference Manager, Cite, or Download. 
3. Choose the file type for exported references, like EndNote or .RIS. 
4. In some web browsers, your export file will automatically open in EndNote and enable the transfer of references. If this does not occur, locate the file in your Downloads folder and open it with EndNote manually. 

Exporting large result sets from database to EndNote

Some databases let you export a large set of results. This is useful for managing results from comprehensive or systematic searches.  

Some databases allow you to select a particular set of results, though there may be a limit. For example, in Scopus, use the Export function to choose 'all' or a subset and export them as EndNote or RIS files into EndNote.

Exporting large result sets from databases on the EBSCOhost platform

For databases on the Ebscohost platform, full sets of up to 25,000 can be exported. For result sets larger than this, export the remaining results in additional batches. 

1. Choose Share, Export results as an email link (up to 25,000 records). 
2. Use the Export Manager to enter your email address. Select the .RIS format. 
3. Check your email. When the Ebsco email arrives, download the results file from the link provided. This will be a zip file. 
4. Open the zip file, then open the .RIS file. The results will automatically transfer into your EndNote library.

Exporting large result sets from databases on the ProQuest platform

Visit the article How can I export all my search results in ProQuest for instructions on large exports from databases on the ProQuest platform.

Manually enter references in EndNote

You may need to create your reference manually when there is no available online record. Always check the accuracy of your data entry and the display of the reference. 

Check out this video (1:20) to learn how create a new reference manually in EndNote.

The following a steps to manually entering a reference in EndNote:

1. Select References, then select New Reference
2. Select the Reference Type from the drop-down menu (e.g. Journal Article, Book, Conference Paper, Webpage) 
3. Enter the reference details in the relevant fields:
    
1. Author details
   1. Enter Author Surname followed by a comma and then first name (or you can enter initials with a full stop after each initial). For example the author John Brown could be entered as Brown, John or Brown, J. or John Brown. It's important be consistent within an individual record.
   2. Enter only one author on each line
   3. Enter corporate authors (i.e. name of an organisation) with a comma at the end of the name (e.g. Australian Bureau of Statistics,)
   4. If a comma is required within a corporate name, use two commas within the name, and a single comma at the end, (e.g. Deakin University,, Geelong,)
       
2. Dates
   1. Use the Year field to enter the year of publication
   2. Use the Access Date field to enter the date you accessed a resource, when required (e.g. when using a website). You must enter the access date exactly as you would like it to appear in your reference list as EndNote does not reformat the access date field.
       
3. Titles
   1. Use the Title field to enter the name of the publication. Do not use full stops at the end of titles
   2. Use the Journal field to enter the journal name. Enter journal names in full, do not abbreviate
   3. Use capitalisation as required by the referencing style. Do not apply any other formatting (e.g. italics) as EndNote will do this automatically
       
4. Volume/ Issue and page numbers
   1. Use the Pages field to enter page numbers for journal articles or books, either in full (i.e. 220-225) or abbreviated (220-5). The referencing style you choose will format the page numbers as required
   2. Use the Volume and Issue fields to enter the volume and issue number for journal articles
   3. Use the Edition field to enter the edition for a book. Only type the edition number, EndNote will automatically add edition or edn. as specified by your referencing style
       
5. DOI
   1. Add the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to the DOI field
       
6. URL
   1. If there is no DOI, add the URL link to the journal in the URL field
       
7. Research Notes
   1. Use the Research Notes field to record your own notes about the reference including paraphrasing of the key points or important quotes.
       
4. Once relevant fields have been filled in, click Save.