Resources for Dance
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextInternational Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is a research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts.
- Dance Online: Dance in VideoDance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Kanopy dance videosAnother great place to find documentaries about dancers and choreographers
- Bloomsbury Video LibraryPreviously known as Art Films Digital, this collection of online streaming videos covering a range of dance practises from around the world, and contemporary dance performances.
Image Source: Flickr, The Moving Architects by Demure as Dynamite (CC BY-SA 2.0)
- CORD newsletter / Congress on Research in DanceSome print issues available at Burwood library
- OctoberAt the forefront of art criticism and theory, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature—and their various contexts of interpretation.
The Burwood campus library has a rich collection of film and animation journals in print. These are located in the Periodicals compactus, in the far right corner of Level 1 of the Burwood library. You cannot borrow the print journals, but can use them in the library to read, scan and photocopy. Please don't cut up or damage these journals - some of the older issues are irreplaceable! They are an amazing resource worth exploring.
Key titles include:
Brolga MELB PER 792.80994 Aus/Bba
Contact Quarterly MELB PER 793.32 Con
Dance Now MELB PER 792.8 Dan/Now
Dance Magazine MELB PER 793.3 Dan
Dance Research Journal MELB PER 792.8072 Com/Drj
Proximity MELB PER 792.8 Pro/Xim
Image source: photos by Marina Minns, 2020.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.
Books
A selection of books for your research. To find more books, use the library catalogue search. Search by keyword, choreographer's name, dance company, or title of a work.
