Finding research articles
New developments and discoveries in medical imaging will usually begin life as a research article. These articles are usually very specialised - they're written for people who already have an understanding of the topic, so use background information resources for help when you get stuck. Articles are published in research journals, and are often peer-reviewed, that is, approved by other experts in the field. You can find them in Library Search (limit by Peer Review), by browsing through individual journals, or by running searches in databases.
Major medical databases
When searching for articles on a topic, you can start with 'Library Search'. However, you might like to use a database which is a little more focused in topic. Here are some examples of important databases for medical imaging.
MEDLINE Complete
The MEDLINE database is one of the primary biomedical databases. It is available through a number of different platforms, including Pubmed, EBSCOHost and Ovid. This access point is for Medline Complete which provides full text access to many of the indexed major medical journals, and is available via the EBSCOHost platform. Licensing and resource information.
Embase
Embase is an important biomedical and pharmaceutical database. It contains records from Medline, but indexes the records differently. Embase also includes 5 million records not covered by Medline. Licensing and resource information
CINAHL
CINAHL is a major database for allied health literature, and will contain useful content for aspects of your medical information gathering. Licensing and resource information
Scopus
Includes science and health-related conted but is multidisciplinary. Scopus is updated daily and indexes over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals as well as quality web pages, with links to full text. Licensing and resource information.
See also the A-Z Database List to browse for databases by subject.
Major Journals
These are the key journals containing research and comment in medical imaging.
- British Journal of Radiology
- International Journal of Medical Physics Research and Practice
- Journal of Applied Clinical Medical Physics
- Journal of Clinical Ultrasound
- Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
- Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology
- Journal of medical radiation sciences
- Magnetic Resonance Imaging - An International Journal of Basic Research and Clinical Applications
- Magnetic Resonance Imaging Clinics of North America
- Radiographics
- Radiologic Clinics of North America
- Physica Medica: European Journal of Medical Physics
- The Radiographer: the official journal of the Australasian Institute of Radiography
Search the Library's databases to other journals and articles on a specific topic.
Clinical Key
Clinical Key is a medical search engine which captures information from Elsevier published clinical videos, medical textbooks, guidelines, journals, image banks and the point of care tool, First Consult. Licensing and Resource Information.
Watch this video (3:50) for an introduction on Clinical Key. Features include saving material into a reading list for later reference.
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a publication in which experts in a field submit articles. This is one of the primary means through which many disciplines discuss new findings, ideas and research.
What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly articles can also be referred to as academic or peer reviewed articles. They are written to inform or report research to a scholarly audience, and therefore tend to use technical language.
Many of these articles have been through a peer review process. They contain an abstract along with a list of references or other readings.
What does peer review mean?
Many scholarly journals will only accept articles for publication after an expert in the field check the contents of the article for its credibility. Reviewers assess whether the contents of the article are accurate, fair and balanced, up to date and ethical.
For help finding a particular journal or journal article, visit the Skills for Study help page