LibGuides: History: Primary sources

Primary sources

What are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are records that provide firsthand accounts or evidence of historical events or experiences. You might also find primary source material reproduced within a secondary source, such as a published biography or documentary history book.

Types of primary sources can include:

Books Photographs and images Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Letters Advertisements and Cartoons Memoirs and Autobiographies

Interviews Diaries and Journals Research Data and Statistics

Movies/Videos Audio recordings Speeches and Public Opinion Polls

Primary Sources quiz

Check your knowledge by completing the activity below on primary and secondary sources

Databases with Primary Source Material

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society
Includes historical primary sources relating to the social and political climate in Great Britain during the nineteenth century, covering such topics as British domestic and foreign policy, the working class, trade unions, Chartism, Owenism, public protest, radical movements, the cartographic record, political reform, education, family relationships, religion, and leisure.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange Archive
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange features a range of primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. These documents include government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more, offering a detailed look at the inner workings of international relations.
Empire Online
Empire Online is an exciting collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901 provides a unique and personal view of events in the region from the arrival of the first settlers through to Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century. Through first-person accounts, including letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials, we are able to hear the voices of the time and understand the experiences of those who took the great challenge in new lands.
Women and Social Movements International
Women and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials including writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
Testaments to the Holocaust: Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-Semitic activities of the German Nazi Party.
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across Gale primary source collections.

Historical newspapers and media

Trove Digitised Newspapers
Trove Digitised Newspapers is a free online service from the National Library of Australia that enables full-text searching of newspaper articles. The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies. The first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service. Newly digitised articles are added daily.
The Age
Latest local news on Melbourne and Victoria, plus national news from Australia and around the world. Access is available for the last 6 months of newspapers.

The Argus

Held in microfilm at the ADPML library

Geelong Advertiser

Held in microfilm at the ADPML library

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
When first launched in 1842, the Illustrated London News marked a revolution in journalism and news reporting. It provided a visual tour of the triumphs, tragedies, daily life and monumental events of the world and the modern British empire. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 18422003 is an asset to students and researchers of subjects including social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising, graphic design and politics, as well as the general public, particularly those interested in genealogy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers : The Guardian and The Observer
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer provides content from The Guardian from 1821 until 2003 and the Observer from 1791 until 2003.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian age through a collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers : The New York Times with Index
ProQuest Historical Newspapers : The New York Times provides content from The New York Times from 1851 until 2018 and indexes from 1851 until 1993.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers : Los Angeles Times
Proquest Historical Newspapers : Los Angeles Times provides content from the Los Angeles Times from 1881 until 1997
ProQuest Historical Newspapers : Chicago Tribune
Proquest Historical Newspapers : Chicago Tribune provides content from the Chicago Tribune from 1849 until 1998.

Institution web resources

Trove - a great resource for finding books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.

Australian War Memorial - combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive

National Archives of Australia - preserves Australia’s most valuable government records and promotes good records management by Australian Government agencies.