Image collections
- ArtstorArtstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Deakin University Library provides access to image databases which are copyright cleared for educational purposes. Please ensure that you check the licensing conditions before re-use, and fully reference images. For further information on copyright, see the Deakin University Copyright Guidelines.
Young girls watering sweet potatoes in the mission gardens, 1936. Nelson Collection, Image 143. SpringerImages. [Internet]. New York: Springer Science+Business Media, LLC; n.d. [cited 2013 March 4] Available from: https://www.sciencephoto.com/
Publicly available image sources
- State Library of Victoria - image poolA historical collection of images from Victoria's past
- TroveSearch photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as physical objects such as puzzles, instruments and clothing.
- Creative CommonsThis website can help you to find online content that you can share, use and remix including images, videos and music.
Note: You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
Online video and sound collections
|
|
The National Film and Sound Archive's primary aim is to develop a comprehensive collection of Australian works and materials representing the history, technology and culture of the audiovisual media, from their origins to the present time. it includes the Oral History Project. |
| The Australian Film Commission's database This contains documentaries, short films, dramas and features and Indigenous works, and is searchable by keyword. Searching by "history" finds over 400 titles. |
|
| Australian Screen This site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS in a unique collaboration. All material is made available with the permission of the copyright holders. Curator's notes are included to provide useful background material. |
Streaming video allows for Deakin staff and students to view video online. These can include films, documentaries and instructional videos. Selected examples for History are listed below:
- World History in VideoWorld History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explores human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for films and documentaries.