Skip to main content

Humanitarian Assistance

Sources to find journal articles

The databases listed below provide a good base of scholarly literature for those wishing to study International and Community development.

See the A-Z Database List to search all databases by subject.


Recommended Journals

Journals on disasters

Disasters
Peer reviewed coverage of disaster studies, policy and management. Includes research and practice relating to natural disasters and complex political emergencies world-wide

Disaster medicine and public health preparedness
This journal covers public health preparedness and disaster response for all health care and public health professionals globally.

International Journal of Disaster Risk Reduction
This journal focuses on multidisciplinary research aiming to reduce the impact of natural and technological disasters. Areas include disaster research, mitigation, adaptation, prevention and risk reduction.

The Australian Journal of Emergency Management
This journal includes articles from both local and international contributors on emergency management in Australia.

International Review of the Red Cross
Promotes reflection on humanitarian law, policy and action in armed conflict and other situations of collective armed violence.

Journals on security

International Security
Original research and lists of recently published books on all aspects of international security issues emphasizing the role of science and technology in the analysis of international affairs

Security dialogue
Security Dialogue aims to combine advances in theory with new empirical findings across a range of fields relevant to the study of security.

Journals on development

Development in practice
This journal offers practice-based analysis and research concerning the social dimensions of development and humanitarianism.

Taylor and Francis online- Development Studies
This is a subset within T&F of 74 online journals in the area of development studies.

Third World Quarterly 
This journal looks beyond strict "development studies", providing an alternative and over-arching reflective analysis of micro-economic and grassroot efforts of development practitioners and planners.

Journal of Intervention and Statebuilding
‚ÄčA cross-disciplinary journal devoted to critical analysis of international intervention, focusing on interactions and practices that shape, influence and transform states and societies. 

Journal of International Development
Presents scholarly research articles on international development from the broad field of economic, political, and social development.

Development and Change
Contributes to the understanding of Third World problems. Publishes critical analysis and articles from all disciplines of the social sciences discussing current development issues.

Community Development Journal
This journal provides an international forum for political, economic and social programmes. Covers community work and development in industrial and developing nations.


Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.