Skip to main content

Humanitarian Assistance

UN Agencies

United National Development Programme (UNDP)
UNDP focuses on assisting countries to build and share solutions for sustainable development and forms partnerships to help build nations that can withstand crisis.

United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR)
The UNHCR is involved in leading and co-ordinating international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide.

World Food Programme (WFP)
The World Food Programme is the world's largest humanitarian agency fighting hunger worldwide.

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
UNFPA forms partnerships to raise awareness and provide support and resources on areas such as sexual and reproductive health care, gender equality, human rights, and population dynamics

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
UNICEF promotes and protects the rights of children, supports child health and nutrition, and quality education around the world

Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
OCHA is the part of the United Nations Secretariat responsible for bringing together humanitarian actors to ensure a coherent response to emergencies.

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
OHCHR leads global human rights efforts and speaks out objectively in the face of human rights violations worldwide.

World Health Organisation (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.

United National Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA)
Provides assistance and protection to Palestine refugees, offering services such as primary & vocational education, primary health care, relief & social services and microfinance & emergency response.

UN Women
UN Women is the UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women.

Department of Peacekeeping Operations (DPKO)
The DPKO is dedicated to assisting the Member States and the Secretary-General in their efforts to maintain international peace and security.

Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO)
FAO focuses on achieving food security for all, through sharing information and identifying and facilitating partnerships. 

International Organisation for Migration (IOM)
Promotes humane and orderly migration for the benefit of all by providing services and advice to governments and migrants.

United Nations International Office for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR)
UNISDR coordinates disaster reduction and ensures the implementation of the International Strategy for Disaster Reduction.

UNESCO
Promotes international co-operation among its Member States and Associate Members in the fields of education, science, culture and communication.


INGOs

Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF)
MSF provides medical aid to people caught in crisis around the world

OXFAM
Oxfam works with partner organisations to reduce poverty around the world, and delivers aid, support and protection in emergencies.

Save the Children
Save the Children works in Australia and around the world to help children recover from emergencies.

CARE
CARE works around the world to support poverty-fighting development and emergency projects.

World Vision
World Vision works with children, families, and their communities worldwide to tackle the causes of poverty and injustice.

International Rescue Committee
The International Rescue Committee responds to the world’s worst humanitarian crises and helps people to survive and rebuild their lives.

Danish Refugee Council 
Provides direct assistance to conflict-affected populations – refugees, internally displaced people and host communities in the conflict areas of the world.

Action Contre La Faim (ACF)
Action against Hunger is an organisatrion dedicated to the fight against hunger worldwide.

Handicap International
An independent and impartial aid organisation working in situations of poverty and exclusion, conflict and disaster.

Solidarities International
Provides aid in the event of conflict and natural disasters and focuses on fighting water-related diseases.

Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an organisation dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.

Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a worldwide movement of people campaigning to protect human rights.

Mercy Corps
Provides emergency relief in times of crisis, promotes sustainable change and focuses on places in transition.

Islamic Relief
An international relief and development charity that promotes sustainable economic and social development by working with local communities to eradicate poverty, illiteracy and disease.

Marie Stopes International 
Provides support and services including family planning, healthcare, and education on sexual and reproductive health care.

Asian Disaster Reduction & Response Network (ADRRN)
Promotes coordination, information sharing and collaboration among NGOs and other stakeholders for effective and efficient disaster reduction and response in the Asia-Pacific region.

International Council for Voluntary Agencies (ICVA)
ICVA is a platform for collaboration and coordination between NGOs and other humanitarian actors, in order to improve the lives of communities affected by humanitarian crisis.


More INGOs

Help Age International
HelpAge International helps older people claim their rights, challenge discrimination and overcome poverty.

Mercy Malaysia
Focuses on providing medical relief, sustainable health related development and risk reduction activities for vulnerable communities in both crisis and non-crisis situations.

Catholic Relief Services (CRS)
Assists impoverished and disadvantaged people overseas, through Catholic social teaching to promote the sacredness of human life and the dignity of the human person.

Relief International
Relief International provides emergency relief, rehabilitation, development assistance, and program services to vulnerable communities worldwide.


Red Cross

International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
Works worldwide to provide humanitarian help for people affected by conflict and armed violence and to promote the laws that protect victims of war.

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
The IFRC provides support before, during and after disasters and health emergencies to meet the needs and improve the lives of vulnerable people.

RC/RC National Societies
Provides a wide variety of services, ranging from disaster relief and assistance for the victims of war, to first aid training and restoring family links.

Petty Officer 3rd Class Gabriel R. Piper 2005, Humanitarian aid Sumatra Tsunami, [photograph], viewed 21 February 2014 [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons