Web resources
Explore the recommended resources outlined on this page:
- Grey literature
- Australian statistics
- World statistics
- Food policy
- Nutrition organisations
- Food science organisations
Grey Literature
Grey Literature includes reports (including technical and statistical reports), dissertations, theses, conference papers, technical & other trade papers, bibliographies and documents in repositories. The Library provides a comprehensive guide to grey literature including definition, types and sources in the Grey Literature for Health Library Resource Guide
Tip
Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension to easily access full-text journal articles from Deakin Library while browsing the web. Just look for the pop-up icon and click the Download PDF button!
Australian Statistics
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The most comprehensive source of Australian statistical information is published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS). The Statistics tab will take you to the statistics section of the ABS webpage where you can search for statistics by catalogue number, release date, topic or title. Health is listed as a topic in ABS.
Health Status of Victorians
Includes information about the health and determinants of health of Victorians.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Is the national agency for health and welfare statistics.
World statistics
Global Health Observatory
National statistics for 70 core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems.
WHO: Noncommunicable diseases
Data on noncommunicable diseases and their risk factors for all WHO Member States.
WHO: Vaccine preventable communicable diseases
Standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels.
WHO Data
Data on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO Member States.
OECD
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) offers datasets for a range of health statistics for populations around the world including Australia. Includes health status, non-medical determinants of health, health resources, health expenditure etc. Two comprehensive sources of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries are OECD Health Statistics and OECD Health Data
World Development Indicators Online
Comprehensive data covering more than 1300 indicators, 249 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
FAOSTAT
Food and agriculture statistics published by the Food and Agriculture Organization
World Bank Health Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics
This comprehensive database includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education.
Food Policy
This website is described by the publisher as a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand.
You can also search for food policy documents on the Internet through Complex Searching of Google.
Nutrition organisations
Dietary Guidelines for Australians
From the Australian Government National Health and Medical Research Council.
Nutrition Australia
An Australian non-government, not for profit organisation.
Nutrition Society of Australia
Society of qualified and practicing scientists in nutrition, dietetics and medical professionals.
Dietitians Association of Australia
In their mission statement Dietitians Association Of Australia describe themselves as "the peak body of dietetic and nutrition professionals providing strategic leadership in food and nutrition through empowerment, advocacy, education, accreditation and communication."
Healthy Food Partnership
The Healthy Food Partnership provides a mechanism for government, the public health sector and the food industry to cooperatively tackle obesity, encourage healthy eating and empower food manufacturers to make positive changes.
American Society for Nutrition
The Society focuses on research and applications and applying the results in society in both the United States and around the world.
British Nutrition Foundation
Many resources listed here and as stated on their website they "exist to deliver authoritative, evidence-based information on food and nutrition in the context of health and lifestyle. Accurate interpretation of nutrition science is at the heart of all we do".
ABC Health Coverage
- Health Updates is a weekly online alert about recent ABC health coverage.
- Health Report : presented on Radio National each Monday at 5.30pm.
Food Science Organisations
Food Standards Australia and New Zealand
This agency covers food standards for all of Australia and New Zealand. Responsible for labelling, composition of selected foods, and regulating the use of ingredients.
FSANZ produce 2 reference nutrient databases
- Australian Food Composition Database is Australia’s reference nutrient database. It contains a wide range of foods and nutrients. The nutrients reported will vary between foods, according to the data we currently have available.
- AUSNUT (AUStralian Food and NUTrient Database) is our survey specific nutrient database
Food - Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
This site, produced by the Federal Government, covers many aspects of food including production, promotion, regulation and safety.
CSIRO - Agriculture and Food
This Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) is leading the way in food, health and nutrition research. It looks at innovative solutions for the food industry.
Dairy Australia
Consumer and manufacturing research reports with a Dairy focus, but also mentions other consumer products. Also includes links to funding and grant information.
Food Safety Information Council
The FSIC is Australia’s leading disseminator of consumer targeted food safety information.
FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This organization's mandate is to to achieve food security for all.