Databases and journals
When researching for an assessment, there are several ways you can find and access peer-reviewed journal articles. We recommend searching within key nutrition and food science journals and databases, to find the most relevant scholarly information.
EBSCOHost databases
- EBSCOHost DatabasesThe EBSCOhost platform offers various databases that may be useful to find nutrition and food information in relation to other health topics:
- Medline CompleteMEDLINE is one of the world's leading medical databases covering the fields of medicine, nursing, nutrition, dentistry and the health care system.
- CINAHL CompleteUseful for topics on nutrition, dietetics, hospital settings and allied health.
- Global HealthGlobal Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains records dating back to 1973.
- APA PsycInfoFor articles on behavioural nutrition, psychology of food choice and sensory evaluation.
More recommended databases
- PubMedProvided free by the US National Library of Medicine, PubMed is the public online version of Medline
- EmbaseEmbase (The Excerpta Medica database) is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
- ScienceDirectA multidisciplinary database and a good source of full text articles and books in the food science / food chemistry and nutrition areas.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering a variety of subject areas including Nutrition.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database and is great for food science, food chemistry, nutrition etc.
Recommended journals
- American Journal of Clinical NutritionOne of the official journals of the American Society for Nutrition.
- Journal of NutritionOne of the official journals of the American Society for Nutrition.
- Journal of Nutrition and MetabolismOpen access peer reviewed journal covers all areas of nutrition and metabolism.
- Nutrition JournalOpen access journal covers all aspects of human nutrition. Nutrition Journal does not publish animal studies.
- NutrientsInternational open access peer reviewed journal covers research articles, reviews etc on many areas including macronutrients, micronutrients, nutrient requirements, malnutrition, metabolic syndrome and diet related disorders.
- Journal of the International Society of Sports NutritionPeer reviewed open access journal is the official publication of the International Society of Sports Nutrition. It covers all aspects of sports nutrition, exercise metabolism and supplementation.
- Nutrition ReviewsThis subscribed journal is available through Wiley Online Library. It covers the latest research in all areas of nutrition.
- Nutrition and DieteticsOfficial journal of the Dietitians Association of Australia covers all aspects of food, nutrition and dietetics. The Library has a subscription through Wiley Online Library.
- Food and Nutrition SciencesPeer reviewed open access journal covers all aspects of Nutrition.
- Advance Journal of Food Science and TechnologyThis journal contains original research, peer reviewed articles on all aspects of food science and technology.
- Food ChemistryThis subscribed journal is available through ScienceDirect and covers the chemistry of foods and raw materials.
- International Journal of Food Science and TechnologyThis subscribed journal is available online through Wiley Online Library.
- Journal of Food ScienceThis subscribed journal is the official journal of the Institute of Food Technologists. It is available online through Wiley Online Library
- Open Food Science JournalThis peer reviewed journal published by Bentham includes research articles on all aspects of food science.
So, when is it okay to use Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a powerful search engine for accessing a wide range of scholarly literature, including journal articles, theses, books, and conference papers. While it offers broad coverage, it's important to understand its strengths and limitations.
When to use Google Scholar
- For initial exploration of a topic - this can help you decide on a research topic and find potential keywords for your database searches
- When searching for grey literature not indexed in traditional databases
- To track citations and identify influential papers in a field using the "Cited by" feature
Limitations
- It does not distinguish between peer-reviewed and non-peer-reviewed sources
- The algorithm may bias your results based on various factors
- Coverage can be inconsistent, especially for older publications
- Quality of sources varies widely, so it is less reliable for high-quality information
Tip
Connect your Google Scholar with Deakin Library to enable the Find it @ Deakin button to appear in your search results, giving you direct access to full-text articles.