E-books, books and reference material
Books are a great way to get an in-depth overview of a topic. Deakin Library holds both print books and e-books.
Below are some recommendations along with details on reference materials, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can also search the Library Catalogue for books and e-books by using keywords, or, if you know the book you are looking for, search by title or author.
Books
- Crime and justice : a guide to criminology byPublication Date: 2020Fully revised and updated, this edition offers a balance between the critical and administrative criminological traditions, adding to the discourse of crime and justice in the 21st century.
Australian Criminal Justice by Publication Date: 2014This book provides an overview of the criminal justice process. It analyses the influences that shape criminal justice and examines the institutional and administrative features of its operation in all jurisdictions.
Textbook on Criminology by Call Number: 364.942 Wil/Toc 2012Publication Date: 2012This book offers a wide-ranging account of crime and criminology, addressing the theoretical, practical, and political aspects of the subject.
Tip: Browsing the library shelves
Find books on criminology in the Deakin library collection at the following call number: 364
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Criminology and Criminal JusticeRegularly updated articles based on the latest, high impact research. A high quality reference work which will make a good starting point for your research.
- Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
This Encyclopedia is an international, comprehensive reference tool for Criminology and Criminal Justice. This 10-volume work provides a complete and systematic coverage of the field. - Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention
This Encyclopedia outlines and discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system and topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims' needs. - Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice
This encyclopedia defines, describes, and charts crimes and criminal activity, it also includes significant coverage of policing crimes and prosecution within domestic and international court systems.
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Criminology by ISBN: 9789966031662Publication Date: 2013This dictionary is not limited to just criminological or sociological concepts. It also covers other areas of social studies such as law, economics and politics.
