News, videos and images
Looking for news, videos or images for your assessment? See the list below of suggested resource collections.
Deakin Library has a huge collection of streaming videos for you to view. Our collections include both educational and recreational content.
You can also search for streaming media in Library Search by filtering results by 'video'.
News
- The AgeA replica of the print edition of the Age newspaper.
- FactivaFactiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources - including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters and The Associated Press, as well as journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank provides access to articles from international, Australian national and local newspapers.
- News Limited NewspapersFree access to News Limited Newspapers online content, including subscriber only content and Digital Print Editions. You will need to register an account with your Deakin email address and then you can sign on to the website of any News Limited newspaper and read the news.
- Press ReaderPress Reader provides access to current newspapers and magazines both locally and internationally.
Streaming video resources
Deakin Library subscribes to a number of databases dedicated to streaming media. The list below are our recommendations for finding excellent media reports, documentaries and general interest films.
- Informit EduTVInformit EduTV Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more from free-to-air and pay TV.
- TVNewsTVNews provides access to Australian television news services (commercial, ABC and SBS) as well as selected current affairs and documentary shows.
Image Collections
Access free, quality images for use in your assessments at the below sites. Remember that it's always a good idea to cite your image sources along with all your other sources in your reference list.
- Creative commonsThis website can help you to find online content that you can share, use and remix including images, videos and music.
Note: You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link. - UnsplashLarge collection of free high quality images licensed for reuse. Read their licensing information.