Skip to main content

Accounting

Where do I search for articles?

Search for articles through Library Search, A - Z Databases or Google Scholar:

 

 

 

 

 

Library Search includes about 80% of the library databases in one search and is a great place to start investigating your topic. Your results will include all types of resources. Type your topic in the box and click the search icon for your results

 

 

 

 

The library's Advanced Search finds articles from many databases at once using your search terms. Add the terms for each of your concepts in the boxes. Once your search has returned results, you can use the limiters down the left to limit to peer-reviewed or academic articles, by date or other options.

Deakin subscribes to a large number of databases that you can use for your study and research. Did you know you can filter the list to find suitable databases for your research? Here's how:

  1. Go to the Deakin's list of databases available on this page
  2. Press the Filter button, which looks like this filter button
  3. To restrict the list to databases that relate to Business, for example, look in the "Limit by Subject" area and click the "Business" button that looks like this 
  4. If you wish, you can click more buttons to add more filters, including restricting the database list by format and access type.

Have a look below for a list of suggested databases to search in.

Google Scholar is great for locating academic articles! 

Be aware and beware!

Here are some reasons to be cautious when using Google Scholar to search for relevant, credible, academic resources:

  • Google search results are not ranked according to your search criteria alone. This is because Google shapes search results based on what it knows about you from your previous searching activity.
  • Google's search results can be influenced by wider interests including business, marketing, political activity.
  • Google Scholar results include non-academic and non-peer reviewed material

What is Peer Review?

In your assignments, you may be asked to use academic or peer-reviewed articles. Have a look at this video to understand the process of peer review and how to identify a peer reviewed article.



Recommended Databases

By searching within a database, you can search multiple journals at the one time. Search within these databases for Accounting articles:


Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.


Journal Lists

The Australian Business Deans Council Journal quality list is a good reference for assessing journals.