Skip to main content

Accounting

Company Financial Data

Financial information can be sourced both through the library and online.

Library Databases provide access to an extensive amount of company information. In deciding which database to look at, first think about the company you are investigating. Is it an Australian Listed Company? Try Connect4 or DatAnalysis. Is it a private company, based overseas or do you need further information on the company? Try D&B Hoovers. Do you need to find companies in a particular industry? Have a look at the Industry resources on the Company, Industry and Country Information Guide. Some Library databases also have reports and SWOT analyses. Have a look at the list below for details:


Company information can also be found online. Try looking at a company website for the latest annual report, news policies and other information. Other sources of Company Financial Information include:


Locating company financials in Library Databases

Please have a look at the tabs for instructions on locating company financial data in the library databases:

DatAnalysis Premium provides financial and other information for current and historical ASX-listed companies. Have a look at this video for an introduction on accessing DatAnalysis Premium and for locating information within the database.

Access DatAnalysis Premium through the library.


Connect 4 has a range of modules to access company information.

Access Connect 4 through the library.

The modules accessible are in blue across the top:

For Financial information, Annual reports are available under the Annual Reports tab. Search by Company name or ASX code, set a year range for Annual Reports over time.


D&B Hoovers provided financials for global public and private companies (where available). To locate information:

  1. Go to D&B Hoovers in the library
  2. Search for a company by entering the name of stock exchange code in the search box at the top:
  3. Select the required company from the search results.
  4. The company's main page has a menu at the left. Select the financial information you require:

  1. Financial data can be exported to a spreadsheet.

Business Source Complete provides Company Information and Company profiles including MarketLine reports.

To locate these, access Business Source Complete through the library. You can search directly using the search box - Search using your company name for a wide range of results including reports and news items. To limit to SWOT analysis, scroll down on the search page and select SWOT Analysis in the publication type:

You can also access company information through the "Company Information" tab at the top of the page and through the "Company Profiles" tab under More:


Factiva provides financials for global public and private companies (where available).

1. Go to Factiva

2. Under ‘Companies/Markets’, select ‘Company’:

3. Search for a company by entering its name in the search box, and click  :

4. Select the required company from the search results.

5. The company's main page has a menu at the left; select ‘Financial results’:

From there you can obtain current and historical:

  • balance sheet figures
  • cash flow figures
  • income statements.

These reports can be exported to a spreadsheet.